Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux Server, Server
andy1974
post Feb 24 2004, 09:07 AM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



blink.gif Hello All
I need help with somthing....i have a home network using 5 pcs on windows xp. i want to install linux on on a new system as a file server. where can i get info on this i need step by step instructions...also when installing a linux server is it a gui interface? or command line once the server is up in running...keep in mind i do not want to alter the or change the ms os on the other systems.


thanks for any help with this
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 09:47 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

Yes there is a gui interface , wich distro are you planing to install?

If you do Red Hat 9 the job is quiet simple for a simple file server.

All you need is one ethernet card and a pc, during installation chose server, then enter the number of you're ethernet card, etc....

Once Linux boots up, you should be able to surf the net [if you entered a DNS,Gateway during bootup], so get the latest samba from www.samba.org [you can find rpm packages there for RH9].

Once downloaded

Enter the console and go to the directory where you've downloaded Samba and type

rpm -Uvh [nameofthedownloadedfile].rpm

then get Midnight Commander from the cd's [it's somewhere on the cd's], also rpm -Uvh [nameofthefile].rpm for Midnight Commander.

Once done, enter console , type mc ...then goto /etc/samba/smb.conf

open it up and delete everything in it

and add these lines into it

[global]
workgroup = youre workgroup name here
server string = FILESERVER
security = SHARE

[homes]
comment = Home Directories
browseable = yes
writable = yes
valid users = %S
create mode = 0777
directory mode = 0777

[C]
comment = shared drive
path = /share
writable = yes
guest ok = yes
printable = no
create mode = 0777
directory mode = 0777

save the file

now create a directory /share and make sure full rwx rwx rwx access is granted
this can be very easy with mc, just click on files, advenced chown and rwx rwx rwx and ok


now type in console /etc/init.d/smb restart

and there you have it a simple file server


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 09:48 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



CORRECTION [during bootup] = [during installation]


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 09:50 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



the command for mounting a cd is mount /dev/cdrom then it will be mounted in either /cdrom or /mnt/cdrom

the command to release the cd , or eject.... is simply eject , but you can't eject till you're on the cd
so first type cd / and [ENTER], and then type eject


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Feb 24 2004, 10:38 AM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



laugh.gif smile.gif Wow great info !!! i will be setting this up on Thursday.. If i have any prob i will get with ya .....thanks so much
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Feb 24 2004, 10:48 AM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



i found this....samba GUI will this be eaiser to config?? i am not too good at understanding command line entry
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 10:48 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



thanx

if you have any further problems, feel free to ask here .


sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 10:50 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



I've never used that GUI [S.W.A.T.], but the smb.conf editing is not so hard either....

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 10:51 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



But you're free to try it...

you'll lose nothing....smile.gif , and if you fail to do it with gui, there is still the good old, editing smile.gif


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Feb 24 2004, 10:54 AM
Post #10


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



Yea...I think the only hangup i will have is navigating in the console i have never used it and not sure how to change directories drives and how to start the program ...Remember newbe here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Feb 24 2004, 10:56 AM
Post #11


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



then the only other question is do i have to install client software on the xp machines to see the linux server or will it be seen in network neiborhood??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 11:34 AM
Post #12


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



no software is necesary on the client side

since samba can be seen in the network neighbourhood, just like any other computer, it's shared drives, [later printers]...


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 11:55 AM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



[Some info only] I've got 5 computers at home, and added a RH9 fileserver just for experimental purposes.
I've put Need For Speed 7 on the fileserver, and was able to play the game without any problems from 2 computers at the same time. Only the shortcut was on the client computer, nothing else, I tryied 2-3 levels with my dad, and we got trough them without any problems, everything was fast.

TEST2: copied a 80MB trance music [kuhl:liquid:)], onto the fileserver started it with windows media player from both of the client, then copied total comander to the fileserver, and started the totalcommander on the fileserver from both clients, and started playing the same music from the fileserver with F3 , with both clients...and then I've started copiing
a 2GB directory [with every kinda file 1MB-300MB] from both client to the fileserver. It took me 7-8 minutes, and the music only started to halt for a sec at the near end [ram smile.gif]. So i think samba is quiet powerful, and the latest is even better , haven't tested it like this , but I've got a better score with sisoft sandra 2003 with samba3.2a, I was faster then NTFS WinXP combo, with quiet fast hd smile.gif] the comunication beetween the clients and the samba was 9.58MB/10.53MB on a 100Mbit LAN smile.gif)

The Computer was :

Asus TUSL2-C i815
Celeron 1200
512MB SDRAM[133] runing only at 100
20GB Hard Disk Quantum [quiet old, 2yrs]


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 05:22 PM
Post #14


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Please have a look at the very top of the page, and click on the link newbie,
it's good, only basic info is provided, howto copy change directories, delete stuff...etc.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Feb 28 2004, 06:52 PM
Post #15


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



hey i installed linux and when it was done rebooting it comes up and say "localhost login" then it asks for a "password" what did i do wrong sad.gif unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Feb 28 2004, 07:06 PM
Post #16


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



i thought that the server would run in a GUI interface i see command screen so i dont know what to do now
i guess i need to learn all the commands??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 28 2004, 07:20 PM
Post #17


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Login as the root user ....

type the command:

startx

and see what happens....if it stars your GUI, good smile.gif

IF not, what is the Computer's Processor, memory, video card....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Mar 4 2004, 08:53 AM
Post #18


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



Yep .... that worked....its up and running thanks for all the help guys
biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 4 2004, 09:01 AM
Post #19


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



You're welcome smile.gif

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post Mar 4 2004, 10:07 AM
Post #20


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



I know one thing redhat does not play well with older cd-roms ph34r.gif Had to sneak up on it...lol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 03:51 AM