Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux Noob: Kaboodle
Stevey_G
post Feb 23 2004, 03:39 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



I have managed to mount my windows partition in Red Hat 9.I can open files such as office files using open office, but when i come to open media such as mpeg, avi, mp3 red hat uses kaboodle. This program opens, but does not play anything! The same happens for the red hat media player, but something comes up about mp3 copyright. Any ideas guys?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 23 2004, 11:11 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Go here:
http://shrike.freshrpms.net/rpm.html?id=1547

Download the latest xmms mp3 rpm (currently xmms-mp3-1.2.7-21.p.fr1.i386.rpm)

Open a terminal window.

If you are not root, use the command:

su - root

Then install the RPM with this command:

rpm -Uvh xmms-mp3-1.2.7-21.p.fr1.i386.rpm
------------------
You might consider installing apt. Which has the latest Multimedia files for RH9.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Feb 24 2004, 10:17 AM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Ok now i get:

warning: xmms-mp3-1.2.7-21.p.fr1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID e42d547b
error: Failed dependencies:
xmms = 1:1.2.7 is needed by xmms-mp3-1.2.7-21.p.fr1

Where do i get the dependency file?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 10:31 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

If you wan't to listen to mp3, and don't want a lot of troubles, do the following....

download apt get rpm for RH9 [if your distro is Red Hat 9]

http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/redhat/9/apt/

1.enter console, goto the dir you've downloaded the apt-get if you're root it'll be in /root if you're user /home/[user name]
2. then in console type : rpm -ivh [thenameofthedownloadedfile].rpm
3. then type apt-get install xine
4. once done type xine there you have it a FULL feauted mp3 player, + movies etc....


5.howto create a icon ?
a. go to the desktop right click new launcher and browse , locate xine
chose a name for it, and an icon and ok


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Feb 24 2004, 01:36 PM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



[root@screamer software]# apt-get install xine
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
Note, selecting libxine1 instead of xine
libxine1 is already the newest version.
0 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 removed and 0 not upgraded.

????????????????? ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shaggy999
post Feb 24 2004, 01:40 PM
Post #6


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 18-January 04
Member No.: 2,170



The dependency file can be found here: http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat/4/idp...1.i386.rpm.html

A helpful note here...... if you're told you need to get a package for dependency reasons...... copy the name of the file needed and put it into google and do a search. Most likely one of the first few pages will contain a link to the RPM.

Anyway, download the necessary dependency file and save it to the same directory as that other file. If they are the only two files there then you can do "rpm -Uvh *.rpm". if not then you will have to do "rpm -Uvh [firstfilenamehere].rpm [secondfilenamehere].rpm"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 01:56 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



This means, that it's already installed


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 24 2004, 01:57 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



enter console and type : xine


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Feb 24 2004, 03:02 PM
Post #9


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Command not found.... hmmmmm sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 24 2004, 08:05 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Concerning the apt install ...

after you finished the install, did you do:

apt-get update

then

apt-get install xine


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Feb 26 2004, 05:24 AM
Post #11


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Cheers guys, it now works a treat, now wondering how you set the default player to xine?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 26 2004, 07:16 AM
Post #12


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If using gnome, use the Menu - Preferences - File types and programs ... or in a termnal type:

gnome-file-types-properties


-----------------
If using KDE (why? ... just kidding, biggrin.gif )

Open konqueror, then select Settings - Configure konqueror

then select File Associations

-----------------
In both cases, you must be the root user


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 11:10 PM