Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wan Wireless Part Security Question...
Robert83
post Feb 20 2004, 09:09 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi

So I've got 60-65 computers in our wan. There are currently three weakpoints, these are the wrieless connections.
Our base[point 1], bridge1[point2] , bridge2[point3]...
I'm using Linksys bridges, since they're quiet good. I've enabled WEP encryption , wich is unfortunately not enough...
I mean it offers some security , but it can be cracked quiet easylie , no matter of encritpiton level 64 128bit ...

So I was thinking about linking these points together with ssh, base to bridge 1 , base to bridge 2 with ssh, now the problem is, that I got windows computers on all three end's, and I hope that they can comunicate trough ssh.

And can you tell me how to do this with ssh?

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Feb 20 2004, 09:15 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



There are ssh clients for windows. PuTTY is one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 20 2004, 10:32 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



SSH Tunneling


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 22 2004, 11:39 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



What I would like to do with SSH is not a temporary connection.

What I would like to do is make a permament SSH connections beetween these three computers . So that every data on every known port will be transported with SSH.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 22 2004, 10:04 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK,

What you want to do is set up a VPN Bridge....

Here is a project that does it ... but it is with a wired lan ... I would think the concepts and software would work with the wireless as well (might have to use wan0 vice eth0, etc.)


This is a VPN How to ... doesn't discuss bridging, but does discuss VPNs.

Here are a couple other links that are close:

http://community.smoothwall.org/forum/view...der=asc&start=0

http://www.mail-archive.com/leaf-user@list...t/msg13118.html


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 23 2004, 04:01 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Thank you,

Well I actually have Wireless Brige Units, which mean that they are external devices muhahahah smile.gif), thus eth0 and eth1 will be just fine.


THANK YOU! smile.gif


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 05:28 AM