Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rh9 Basics 2
Robert83
post Feb 18 2004, 04:26 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



I've got 3HD's in my computer, I use 2 for windows, and 1 for linux.

hda,hdb is windows [with aprox 6-7 partitions], hdc [4 partitions] is linux.

The question is, how can I mount hda or hdb, so that I could see it from linux?
[got a few mp3's there, would help relax while working smile.gif ]


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 18 2004, 12:14 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Since you are using RedHat 9, You can not mount NTFS partitions out of the box (see below) ... you can mount vfat (that is FAT32/FAT16) partitions.

To mount vfat, create a directory to mount into ... I use something under /mnt ... so :

mkdir /mnt/windows
(you need to make a seperate directory for each mount)

use the command (to mount /dev/hda2):

mount -t vfat -o umask 000 /dev/hda2 /mnt/windows
obviously this will only mount the partition if it is vfat ... for NTFS see below...
-----------------------------
for NTFS mounts, see this site ... on the left, click RedHat 9 in the downloads section (download for your kernel), and following the directions here.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 18 2004, 04:23 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Good, it works with hda, but my first hard disc has a few partition, and when I mount hda2 the way you said it,
it comes back with an error 'are you trying to mount an extended or logical partition'.


What to do?


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 18 2004, 05:31 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Should work ... but you have to use:

/dev/hda1 or /dev/hda2 not /dev/hda (must have a partition number)

also after installing the ntfs stuff (if mounting an ntfs partition) the command would be

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows -t ntfs -r -o umask=0222


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 19 2004, 05:03 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda2,
or too many mounted file systems
(aren't you trying to mount an extended partition,
instead of some logical partition inside?)

hda1,2,3,4 is FAT32. I've created them with FDISK.
1.Created primary partition
2.Created extended partition
3.Created logical drives in extended partition

mount -t vfat -o umask 000 /dev/hda2 /mnt/windows2 this is how I tryied mounting it, but it drops out the help file for mount, perhaps I did something wrong? if I skip -o umask 000, then the above mentioned message comes out.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 19 2004, 05:44 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I know this sounds crazy ... but when you do the command:

fdisk -l /dev/hda

what does it say the partitions are.....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 19 2004, 07:34 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



I don't know where to hide myself smile.gif)) please don't look at this smile.gif

[root@robi2kv12 root]# fdisk -l /dev/hda

Disk /dev/hda: 61.4 GB, 61489659392 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7475 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 638 5124703+ b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda2 639 7475 54918202+ f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5 639 4927 34451361 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda6 4928 7475 20466778+ b Win95 FAT32
[root@robi2kv12 root]#

hda5 and hda6 then it is smile.gif

Thanx for the idea! smile.gif

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 19 2004, 09:28 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Hey ... that's OK...you should see some of the things I do biggrin.gif

Are hda1, hda5 and hda6 mounting OK?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 19 2004, 12:56 PM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Yes!!!

I'm listening music from them right now smile.gif , ahhhhh the comfort of this .... mmmmm smile.gif


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 09:16 AM