Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A Keyboard Problem, Logitech [all 7] keyboard problem
Robert83
post Feb 17 2004, 03:25 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



I've installed 7 RH9 computers and use them as terminals, from the beggining there was a problem, sometimes the keyboard wouldn't respond to any keys at all [for a few seconds], and after that it worked again.

All the other keyboards work ok with RH9 , just Logitech won't work 99.99% ok.

Anyone got any idead, what should I do?

The problem is :

- keyboard will not always respond to pressed keys [including 1 , 2 , 3]

Thank you foreward

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 17 2004, 06:24 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The first thing I would do is switch the keyboard to another PC ... and see if the problem follows the keyboard or stays on that machine...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 18 2004, 04:08 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Well the problem is that all seven keyboard are doing the same thing, won't respond to some characters imediately.

Here is a description of what I do :

Got a 2xXeon 4GB 2xSATA120GB Terminal Server, I use RH9 on clients , and use rdesktop to connect to the terminal server.

Possible error : [but which is the one?]
1.rdesktop has some issues perhaps [latest stable version]
2.since a dos program is running in terminal mode [with using TAMEDOS www.tamedos.com], maybe that makes the keyboard not to respond [when in terminal mode].
3.the keyboard itself is not what it is , I mean I've looked at the webpage, and the cheapest Logitech keyboard is 20$, and ours was 4$...now this is interesting.


Question :

are there some possible options under linux, wich could cure such errors? , I mean when some buttons won't respond for a sec or two in Linux, and some combinations of [2 buttons : like SHIFT+6], won't respond for the first time, only for the second.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 05:27 AM