Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ssh To Telnet, Need help setting up Linux to redirect
Beethovan
post Feb 11 2004, 03:54 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,351

I'm using SuSE linux 9.0, kernel version 2.4.21-99, using a static ip address. I am needing to set it up so that a users can SSH into this linux box and after verification it automatically redirects the users to another computer via Telnet. The server it's being redirected to is a SCO box and installing SSH on that box is not an option. I've been told that i can use iptables to do this task for me, but being that i'm a noob with linux, i am lost when it comes to setting up such a task. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Beethovan
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 11 2004, 09:52 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

Well ... you don't want to use iptables to port forward the user because that will allow the login to take place in clear text.

You initial comment about logging into the first server via SSH is a good one ... it will allow all comunications to be encrypted.

For the users that you want to automatically telnet to the SCO server, add this line to the bottom of their .bash_profile file in their home directory:

telnet -a ip_address

they will be prompted for their password and automatically login to the SCO server...don't add this line for accounts that need to be able to issue commands on the suse server...

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE