Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux Newbie: Knoppix Boot + Program On Floppy
CodeOptimist
post Feb 11 2004, 01:50 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,350

Hi all, could you help out a Linux newbie here? biggrin.gif

I'm trying to run a small distributed computing program on a computer without a hard drive, using a Knoppix live CD. The program to run will hopefully be stored on a floppy disk. I know that the program will run under Knoppix as other users have done this.

Here's the small catch: this computer has 32MB of RAM, so I am stuck using the terminal, instead of KDE or Gnome tongue.gif

Here are my questions:

1. How should I format the floppy? Can I download the program (located here) on a Windows machine, and copy it to a DOS/Windows-formatted floppy? I assume I'd have to "jump through some hoops" to read a FAT-formatted disk natively under Linux?

2. What commands should I keep in mind here? I've looked through the newbie guide you have here (great resource biggrin.gif), so I know how to mount the floppy drive:

mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

then do I cd into /mnt/floppy?

Thanks for any help/suggestions!
CO

--------------------
Proud member of Wildfire Games!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 11 2004, 02:07 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

Actually, knoppix makes things quite easy for the end user. Assuming you already know how to boot into knoppix without the X-interface (Check the F2 help section on cd boot).