Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie Help Installing Any Version Of Linux!
DJ_TRIPP420
post Feb 6 2004, 10:48 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-February 04
Member No.: 2,319



I have a new toshiba satellite laptop. I don't have a floopy drive. I have a bootable cd-rom drive. I'm running xp pro. I'm looking for a newbie friendly version of linux that I can get to install on this machine. I tried mandrake and redhat with no luck. I can't either of the two to boot from a cd. Any help would be great.



Toshiba Satellite 2455-53001
Windows Xp Pro
30 gb hard drive /2 partions
512 mb RAM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 6 2004, 10:57 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Redhat and Mandrake *should* boot from your cdrom without any problem. Have you checked your bios settings to ensure that you're laptop is attempting to boot from the cdrom before it boots from the hard disk? If not, then your computer will boot the hard disk first which will bring you into your Windows install.

There's not much sense in suggesting any other distribution for you to try if Redhat or Mandrake won't boot from cd for you, because chances are, any others won't work for you either.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
black dog
post Feb 7 2004, 05:29 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 7-February 04
Member No.: 2,320



Sorry if this is the wrong idea, but do you mean boot off the CD and RUN off the CD, like some Linux distros, rather than just install off a CD?

I believe Lindows boots and runs off CD, but you have to pay for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 8 2004, 09:32 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Maybe the ISO's aren't being burned as an image ... see this thread for how-tos on burning ISOs

It could be a hardware detection issue with the video card...

BTW ... it's actually a Satellite 2455-S3001

I didn't see any installs of Linux on that version .... you might try a text install and load the latest Nvidia drivers ... get the drivers with this command from the command prompt, as root, (if the network is working) all one line:
CODE
wget http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/1.0-5336/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run


Get the latest kernel and kernel source:

CODE
wget ftp://ftp.dulug.duke.edu/pub/redhat/linux/updates/9/en/os/i686/kernel-2.4.20-28.9.i686.rpm
wget ftp://ftp.dulug.duke.edu/pub/redhat/linux/updates/9/en/os/i386/kernel-source-2.4.20-28.9.i386.rpm


Install the kernel and kernel-source:

rpm -Uvh kernel-2.4.20-28.9.i686.rpm kernel-source-2.4.20-28.9.i386.rpm

reboot to linux

login as root

chmod 755 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run

edit the file /etc/X11/XF86Config with a console editor ... vi is installed via the initial install ... it is very hard to use....probably easier to use in the text editor joe

You can install joe with the console command:

CODE
wget ftp://ftp.dulug.duke.edu/pub/redhat/linux/9/en/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/joe-2.9.7-12.i386.rpm


Then

rpm -Uvh joe-2.9.7-12.i386.rpm

Then the command:

joe /etc/X11/XF86Config

remark out the lines (by placing a # in fornt of them) for dri and GLcore

and change the line:

Display "xxxxxxx"

to

Display "nvidia"

then save the file with the command:

Ctrl-k followed by Shift-D.

You should then be able to do the command startx and have graphics.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DJ_TRIPP420
post Feb 9 2004, 10:51 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-February 04
Member No.: 2,319



I do have the the bios set to boot from cd-rom. I will retry burning the images. Thanks for the help. Let me know if you can think of anything else
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:52 PM