Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help Installing, can some one please help me?
Ozmar
post Feb 5 2004, 01:52 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-February 04
Member No.: 2,299



I can't seem to get the packages off the CD. when it goes to move them, after i get the box abot he intsall log, it says "Mount faild: invaild argument" then the intaslltion wont continue,
can some one please help me?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Feb 5 2004, 02:30 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I need more info. What distro are you trying to install? How are you trying to install it? To what? Where did you get the iso images? Thats sort of information.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ozmar
post Feb 5 2004, 05:44 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-February 04
Member No.: 2,299



the distro is is red hat 5.1, it's on a CD i got from the linux book.
I made a new paration in disk druid, the root was / . after that I rry to continue, it askes to select the packasges i want to install, then when i do it syasy it will mae a log file /tmp/install.log. then I hit ok, adn it says
"mount failed: invalid argument"

then itwont continue,

is there anythgin else you need to know?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Feb 5 2004, 06:31 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Look at the different consoles and see if there are any error messages. Press alt-f2, alt-f3 and alt-f4.

This is a very very old version of RH using a very very old kernel. Can you provide a description of the hardware your trying to install it on? You will have better luck using a more recent version.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ozmar
post Feb 5 2004, 09:21 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-February 04
Member No.: 2,299



I'm tryign to install it on an old 133. I justwanna play around with it on my spare computer before i start useing it more.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 6 2004, 05:48 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I tried to install redhat 5.1 on a pentium 200 mmx box a couple months ago to provide help for someone else...I had nothing but problems.

I would also recommend version RH 7.3 for testing.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 02:52 AM