Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why No Gui When Logging In?
sk79
post Nov 25 2002, 12:28 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 160

I've just (finally) managed to install Mandrake 9.0 and am attempting to login for the first time.

I don't get a GUI when Mandrake finishes loading - instead I get a prompt asking me to login (localhost). I can log in as root no problem at all and when I press ctrl-alt-f7, I don't get the GUI (just a flashing cursor).

Someone mentioned configuring XF86 or something (this is my first time with Linux, so I'm lost) Can someone explain how to fix this?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Corey
post Nov 25 2002, 02:49 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

First off, you should make sure that your X is set up properly by manually issuing the command "startx". If everything loads up fine there, you can edit the file "/etc/inittab" and look for a line that states the default runlevel. By the sounds of it, yours should show a default level of "3". You need to change this to "5" and save the file. The next time you restart, it should kick right into the gui screen.

btw, when i mean "edit" i mean, open it up in an editor such as pico, nano, vi or vim. If you don't know how to use any of these, then check out their manual (man vi).