Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ssh With Xwindows System...
Jim
post Jan 26 2004, 12:00 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Can someone recomend a program that will alow me to ssh into a network and run programs off of it graphically? I mean, linux has an x-windows system running so why when you just use 'ssh -l login hostname' wont it let you run graphically? Thank you.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 26 2004, 01:05 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If you are logging in via ssh and linux, you can run things graphically without any additional software.

You must first configure the ssh server (the machine you want to log in to) to do X11 forwarding ... you do this by editing the file /etc/ssh/sshd_config and set X11Forwarding on by removing the # in front of:

X11Forwarding yes

Now restart sshd on the ssh server (machine you are loggin into) with this command:

/etc/init.d/sshd restart
-----------------------------------------------------------
Then on the client machine (the one you will be logging in from), go to /etc/ssh and edit the file /etc/ssh_config and set the line X11Forwarding line in that file to yes as well:

X11Forwarding yes

Also on the machine you are logging in from (the clinet machine), issue the command xhost +

ssh to the server and run the command in the window ... you should get the graphical program on the client computer.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jan 26 2004, 02:35 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I probably should have specified that I have no access to the system I am logging into. I am logging into the central system at my school so I can't change any settings on the system. I know you can run stuff graphically off the system because windows users can you something like x-windows to run graphically off the system. So is there any other way that I can do it with out changing anything on the main system, but only my system?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 26 2004, 06:35 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



try all the client setting changes that I mentioned and give it a try ....

(make sure you have your forward X11 set and do xhost +, login to the remote server and try to run a graphical program)


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jan 27 2004, 12:38 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Sweet. This makes my life much easier


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 07:22 AM