Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Direct Connection Networking
incognito129
post Jan 25 2004, 02:37 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-January 04
Member No.: 2,231



Hello,

I'm trying to network two computers together. They're running Redhat linux 8 and 9 and have intel 1000 pro nic's. I've got them connected directly together but I can't seem to get them to communicate with each other.

Could anyone provide some tips or assistance, tried googling but no luck.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 25 2004, 03:04 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You have to use a crossover cable instead of a straight through cable to connect 2 computers directly (or to connect 2 hubs ) ...

See these links 1 , 2.

You can buy a crossover cable at most computer stores....or you can cut off one end of a standard cable and swap wire 1 and 3 ... and wire 2 and 6 ... one one end then crimp on a new connector.

(or you can use 2 stright cables and a hub to connect the computers)


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jan 25 2004, 03:26 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You might want to read up on the networking howto.
You didn't provide enough info so I will start from the beginning.

Make sure you have a crossover cable connecting the two PC's unless your using a hub or a switch. The network cards have a link light that should be illuminated when powered up and the cable connected.

Did RH detect and configure the network card? If you go to the hardware detection GUI is the card listed. If not then you will have to find a linux driver for the card. If so then you can proceed on.

You will need to setup a static IP address for each PC. I haven't used RH in awhile so I don't know what the GUI configuration tool looks like. You might want to look at the documentation at RH website.

Use IP address
192.168.0.1 PC #1
192.169.0.2 PC #2
netmask 255.255.255.0 on both PC's

You will want to disable any firewalls running on the PCs. You should be able to use the ping command i.e.
ping 192.168.0.2 (From PC #1)
If everthing is working you should get a response.

Will save the software to the next post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 04:34 AM