Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> About Not Using Root Account?!, I cant seem to work as normal user.
nelson
post Jan 22 2004, 07:24 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,210

could someone please help me out here?

Im new to linux, and am trieng to do things "by the book" not using the root account.
However when i try to run scripts with a normal user account as #su (and correct password) I get a #: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
error.

Iḿ sure there isnt a lot of magic needed to get around this problem, but i just havent figured it out! blink.gif

Thanks
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
gangsta_style
post Jan 22 2004, 08:03 PM
Post #2

Grub-er

Member No.: 1,649

???? I don't get what you are asking. Can you rephrase that please?

But if you are trying to log in as root all you do is type "su" then the password. Not "#su"... I have never seen that before!

+Quote Post
jetblackz
post Jan 22 2004, 08:14 PM
Post #3

./configure

Member No.: 613

That means you wrote the file in Windows and ran it inLinux.

--------------------

+Quote Post
nelson
post Jan 22 2004, 09:51 PM
Post #4

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Member No.: 2,210

Ok, I will try to put the problem to you again.. having spent some more time investigating.

My objective is to update my ATI Radeon 9200 on my RH9 system.
I visited ATIs support site, the drivers they have for the display adapters are XFree??? specific. Meaning that I would have to know what version on XFree I am running at the moment. Being a newbee with linux OS I followed their advice and downloaded a script named Check.sk that suposedly would tell me what XFree server version I am running.