Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> *newbie* Lisa Daemon ?, LISA DAEMON DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE WORK..
HONEYWELLJR
post Jan 21 2004, 05:59 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,191

Hello, I am brand new to Linux. Suse 9.0 to be exact, and I love what I see. I have had a few problems that I am trying to sort out. I am hoping this would be a place to get help when I get stuck.

The biggest problem I am having right now is with Lisa Daemon. When I try to use Lan Browsing in Konquerer I get a message that says "The Lisa Daemon does not apear to be working". I have done an exaustive search on the net and have had no luck. There are a couple postings on other boards but, alas, they have not been answered. The few "newbie tutorials" that broach this subject are not "newbie friendly" (isn't that ironic). One thing that might be important is that when I click on the MyNetwork icon that suse installed on my desktop I get an unspecified error. Then Konquerer opens up. That is when I click on the Lan Browsing and get the message explaining that this Lisa is being lazy and she doesn't appear to be working. sleep.gif HELP how do I make her work. My goal is to use the Lan browsing to share files between the SuSE and an XP box. Which I have a pretty good tutorial on, but it doensn't say anything specific to this problem.

Thank you for all your help (in advance tongue.gif )
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
napro
post Jan 21 2004, 03:37 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 2,190

get a samba server going and Use LinNeighborhood

+Quote Post
HONEYWELLJR
post Jan 21 2004, 11:48 PM
Post #3

I'm not sure but I think I have Samba server going. I mean I know that it's installed.