Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Samba Hassels
cainbrain
post Jan 17 2004, 10:52 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-January 04
Member No.: 2,112



ive been struggeling to get smaba to work correctly.
im running red hat 9, and am trying to get my linux box to access my xo box and vice versa.
I have edited om smb.conf file and set up swat aswell. I have started the smb and nmd services.

Bit when trying to access my network services i get a error saying: Couldnt display smb:///' , becouse Nautils cannot contact the SMB master browser.
Check that an SMB server is running in the local network.

Can anybody pls tell me where im going wrong????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 17 2004, 11:26 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I have never been able to get the smb:// part of nautilus to work with windows .... I instead mount the shares using the command line (or a script):

See this post


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cainbrain
post Jan 17 2004, 12:12 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-January 04
Member No.: 2,112



i have read that post you sent me, and have read and gone through it, after trying it, the configuration, it is saying: smb connection failed? I restart my smb and i still get the same error message? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cainbrain
post Jan 17 2004, 12:34 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-January 04
Member No.: 2,112



thx for your help it seemed to have worked. biggrin.gif

just want to know..is this the command for smb to start on start-up
chkconfig smb on
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 17 2004, 01:22 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



when I use chkconfig I use it like this:

chkconfig --level 2345 smb on
chkconfig --level 016 smb off


(level 3 and 5 are the only ones you normally run, so you can leave 2 and 4 off if you want ... and level 0 is shutdown ... level 6 is reboot and level 1 is single use mode, so you want it to turn off for those modes)


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 06:38 AM