Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Were To Go?
cainbrain
post Jan 14 2004, 05:32 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,112

can somebody pls direct me to a site that explains and shows how to set up samba, bearing in mind im new to linux. If it helps im running red hat 9
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 14 2004, 07:12 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

You can find everything you need here:

http://us1.samba.org/samba/docs/
-------------------
What is you exact goal ... to connect to files on a windows PC and allow that PC to connect to Linux ... that is fairly easy.

If you want to run the Linux machine as a windows Primary Domain Controller though, that is tricky.

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE

+Quote Post
cainbrain
post Jan 14 2004, 02:49 PM
Post #3

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,112

what im trying to do, is get linux and windows to share files, but also i want to get my linux box live on the net, Internet is currently on my xp box with a asdl modem, connecting through the usb.

can you pls direct me were to go so that i can try and configure this

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 16 2004, 06:36 AM
Post #4

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151