Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why Can't Suse8.2 Connect To Network?, Failure to connect
tprice
post Jan 1 2004, 01:27 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-January 04
Member No.: 2,053



When installing 8.2 at first it worked like magic and connected during installation to download updates. Then the connection died. Verbose bootup shows failure to connect to DHCP. I've tried four different NICs, disconnect a computer that connects and used that ethernet cable and still same problem.

All NICs are recognized and install as eth0 and I configured with DHCP. On installation, an attempt to connect to suse produces the following:

linux kernel eth0: Identified 8139 Chip type RTL-8139C
linux kernel eth0: Setting half duplex based on auto-negotiated 0000
linuxinsmod: Note: /etc/modules.conf.local is more recent than /lib/modules/2.3.204 GB-Athlon/modules.dep
linus/ect/hotplug/net.agent [1408] No HW description found .. exiting

Where do I go from here??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 1 2004, 08:07 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If you are able to get logged in and to the desktop, run YAST and select Network Devices and then network card to configure...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tprice
post Jan 2 2004, 10:59 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-January 04
Member No.: 2,053



Yup, done that. Funny thing is that if I load RedHat 8.0 it all works fine but I'd like to run Suse.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azepromidi3000
post Jan 2 2004, 08:12 PM
Post #4


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 11-December 03
Member No.: 1,937



your network drivers for Suse maybe not working with your network card you may need to work out the source and fix the problem manual.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 12:51 PM