Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> First Install Of Mandrake Xfree Problems
mentalcase
post Dec 29 2003, 11:46 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,038



I installed mandrake 9.2 last night. It went right to a prompt so i typed in my username and password and then was at another propmt. I wanted to start up gnome so i typed startx. There seems to be a problem. It gives me an error saying that no devices are detected and that there was a fatal server error: no screens found. I have no clue what to do. I dont know anything about linux so this is all new to me. Forgive me if everything i say is wierd.

mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 30 2003, 08:32 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Sounds like the video card (or monitor) was improperly detected / configured.

What is the manufacturer and models for your monitor and video card?

What does your /etc/X11/XF86Config file have in the Section "Device" and Section "Monitor" sections (I'll post mine as an example):

CODE
Section "Device"
       Identifier      "NVIDIA Corporation GeForce FX-5200"
       Driver          "nvidia"
       #Driver         "nv"
EndSection
                                                                               
Section "Monitor"
       Identifier      "NEC E1100"
       HorizSync       31.0-82.0
       VertRefresh     55.0-120.0
       Option          "DPMS"
EndSection

---------------------------------------------------------------
You need to become familiar with a console text editor (we are going to edit that /etc/X11/XF86Config file from the command prompt later wink.gif )... there are many out there, including:

pico
nano
vim <--- My recommedation
joe
jered

I would recommend that you take the time to learn vim {because it is installed on almost all Linux and UNIX machines I have ever seen since 1985 .... and it'll make you a geek! biggrin.gif}. Actually I recommend it because it is so widely installed that you will be able to use it in almost any UNIX or Linux environment. I normally use vi from a terminal window even in GUI based linux...

Here are a couple vim howto's:
(pdf) Vim Tutorial
Vim FAQ
The Vim Help File


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mentalcase
post Dec 30 2003, 12:16 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,038



Ight i fixed the problem last nite. I put the ati linux driver on a cd and installed it from the console. Once i set up my config file i was good to go. Im still having problems tho. The number one annoyance is my mouse keeps cutting out. It seems like the computer freezes but it doesnt i can switchbetween desktops but i cant move my mouse. Whats goin on there? Number 2. I knew i was goin to have a problem here, but it recognizes my dlink 520 wireless card but it does not recognize it as a ethernet adapter. How can i use it to connect to my lan through linux?

mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 06:36 PM