Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Netscape 7.1; Booting
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Dec 29 2003, 07:31 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



Red Hat Linux 8.0

I have a -624 error. Which is a cannot create directory, I think. This is when I'm trying to install Netscape 7.1. I don't know how to get passed that, something dealing with root logins?

Also, I lost my 98SE boot thing. It's not on GRUB. I'd like to access my other partition/OS. That'd be great.

I hope all will embrace this novice with good words and direction.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 30 2003, 07:41 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I haven't installed netscape 7.1 ... I use mozilla (or mozilla-firebird).

Netscape 7.1 is based on Mozilla ... which is included in RedHat 8.0 ...

If you want a newer version of mozilla, I would recommend that you install apt from freshrpms.net. (here is the link to the RH8 download section).

You only need the first file (currently named apt-0.5.5cnc6-fr0.rh80.1.i386.rpm).

Apt is a package management tool (used on debian for years) that has been ported to use RPM ... it keeps your system updated and allows for easy installation od software.

After install, to get the latest mozilla for RedHat 8.0, do these commands:

apt-get update
apt-get install mozilla


If you have a broadband connection and want to upgrade everything on your redhat 8 machine (I do this on 2 production servers once a day) ... then you can do this instead:

apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade


I would recommend that you do this every couple days to keep your software updated....

All Security updates from RedHat 8 stop tommorrow (see this post) ... RH8 is OK as long as you are willing to not get any more security patches from RedHat.
---------------------------
If Windows 98 is on your C: drive and it is /dev/hda1 (the first partition of the primary master drive), add this to the bottom of the /boot/grub/grub.conf file:

QUOTE
title Windows 98
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
If Windows 98 isn't the /dev/hda1 then you will need to do some mapping (windows 98 must think it is the first drive, first partition) ... here is an example for a Windows 98 install at /dev/hdb1 (windows 98 on the primary slave drive, first partition):

QUOTE
title Windows 98
    map (hd0,0) (hd1,0)
    map (hd1,0) (hd0,0)
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    chainloader +1


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Dec 31 2003, 11:26 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



I get this with the first option I typed in:
QUOTE
Booting 'Windows 98'
rootnoverify(hd0,0)
chainloader+1

Type the name of the Command Interpreter
C>


I wanted to confirm which partition my Windows 98SE OS was on so I mounted dev/hda1 successfully.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sprinthead
post Dec 31 2003, 09:27 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-December 03
From: Chilliwack, B.C, Canada
Member No.: 2,048



Geesh...been a while starting Win98 from a command prompt....but I *think* you need to add "windows" in there somewhere !!

I hope that helps you out !


--------------------
I got mail that said *Gas Bill*
Too bad it was from Terasen Gas !
Sounded like a great idea to me !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Jan 1 2004, 10:23 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



No go. Maybe I need to add a
CODE
makeactive
line to my grub.conf for my Windows 98 SE OS to boot from GRUB?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 1 2004, 10:38 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



adding makeactive could be required ... so try:

CODE
title Windows 98
   rootnoverify (hd0,0)
   makeactive
   chainloader +1


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Jan 1 2004, 10:56 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



Still no change. What is this Command Intepreter request?
CODE
(e.g., C:WINDOWSCOMMAND.COM)
is some text I left out after the Command Interpreter line. It doesn't appear that I'm in DOS quite yet.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 1 2004, 12:08 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Is this install on a machine that has a service partition for the BIOS?

Booted to linux, what is the result of this command:

fdisk -l /dev/hda


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Jan 1 2004, 12:13 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



CODE
fdisk -l /dev/hda

Disk /dev/hda: 240 heads, 63 sectors, 2693 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1             1      1883  14235448+  1c  Hidden Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2   *      1884      1897    105840   83  Linux
/dev/hda3          1898      2607   5367600   83  Linux
/dev/hda4          2608      2693    650160    f  Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5          2608      2693    650128+  82  Linux swap
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 1 2004, 12:50 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Normally, (in my experience) the partition type is:

c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

not

1c Hidden Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

for Win98 with FAT32 ...
--------------------------------------------------
Here is my advise, try adding a bootable flag to the Win98 partition. I would try it first by booting into linux and issuing these commands (since linux is booting):

fdisk /dev/hda

You should now be in the fdisk interactive menu....it should say something like this:

Command (m for help):

If you are in fdisk, use the command p (followed by the Enter key) ... you should get the same list of partitions that you posted earlier.

Now we want to mark the DOS partition as a bootable partition .... in fdisk it's known as toggle a bootable flag. To do this use the command a (followed by the Enter key). You will be asked for a partition, enter the number 1 followed by the Enter key.

Now you should be back to the main fdisk menu ... if you are, press p to print partitions and you should see a * beside both /dev/hda1 and /dev/hda2 ... if you see this, press w (followed by Enter) to write the partition table and quit fdisk...

Note: Nothing is saved until you use the w key, so if something isn't right ... use q (followed by the enter key) to exit without saving...then start over.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Jan 1 2004, 03:16 PM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



CODE
fdisk /dev/hda

The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 2693.
There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
and could in certain setups cause problems with:
1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
  (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/hda: 240 heads, 63 sectors, 2693 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1             1      1883  14235448+  1c  Hidden Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2   *      1884      1897    105840   83  Linux
/dev/hda3          1898      2607   5367600   83  Linux
/dev/hda4          2608      2693    650160    f  Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5          2608      2693    650128+  82  Linux swap

Command (m for help): a
Partition number (1-5): 1

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/hda: 240 heads, 63 sectors, 2693 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *         1      1883  14235448+  1c  Hidden Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2   *      1884      1897    105840   83  Linux
/dev/hda3          1898      2607   5367600   83  Linux
/dev/hda4          2608      2693    650160    f  Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5          2608      2693    650128+  82  Linux swap

Command (m for help): w
The partition table has been altered!

Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.

WARNING: Re-reading the partition table failed with error 16: Device or resource busy.
The kernel still uses the old table.
The new table will be used at the next reboot.
Syncing disks.


I've done as followed, what next? When I select my 'Windows 98' boot, I'm still asked for Command Interpreter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 1 2004, 03:45 PM
Post #12


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



There is something wierd about your win98 partition ... it doesn't seem like it is a normal Win98 FAT 32 partition.

At this point, I would boot from a windows 98SE startup floppy ... I recommend the Windows 98 SE Custom, No Ramdrive from HERE, and at the a: prompt, issue the following command:

fdisk /fixmbr

That should fix your MBR so you can boot windows correctly .... but probably not Linux.

I would then recommend that you make a boot floppy using Smart Book Manager. Download files

sbminst.exe (DOS executable)
cwsdpmi.exe (support file)

from version 3.7 release 1 on this page... put them on your windows c: drive (in a seperate directory ... I use c:sbm), then execute:

sbminst.exe

Make an A: boot floppy disk...then try booting from that when you want to run linux...or you might use SBM on your MBR drive (if the floppy works).
------------------
Also ... if you used something to make your partitions other than Windows (like partition magic), you may have to use that to fix the MBR...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Jan 1 2004, 03:54 PM
Post #13


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



I actually did use Partition Magic. But my RH Linux install reformated Linux partitions. Should I attempted getting that custom boot disk?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 1 2004, 08:03 PM
Post #14


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I would try to repair the MBR with partition magic ... make widows work and then get the Smart Boot Loader.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NewLinuxUserfrom...
post Jan 1 2004, 08:46 PM
Post #15


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 29-December 03
Member No.: 2,036



Alright, I want to do this carefully. First, I'll access my Windows 98 SE with the custom boot disk; second, I'll repair my MBR[in what way(s)?]; third, my Linux partition will be become available through Partition Magic or not at all? Will I end up resorting to a boot disk (sbm) each time I'd like to run Linux because of Window/DOS's MBR?

I'm having trouble understanding the road map.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jan 2 2004, 06:12 AM
Post #16


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK ... after some research, here is what I think happened.

Partition magic (both versions 7 and 8) have the ability to create hidden partitions (or hide current partitions) ... did you do that to your windows partition? If so, do you know how to undo it? (See page 63 of this manual for partition magic 8 ... see page 63 of this manual for partition magic 7.

If you have partition magic 8, you can boot from the CD to the DOS mode of partition magic ... where you should be able to check and see if the windows partition is hidden (and unhide it, if necessary). If you have partition magic 7, you should be able to boot to dos (from a bootable Win98 floppy) and create rescue disks to boot to the dos mode of Partition magic.

After the windows partition is unhidden, everything might work properly as is ... if it does, you can leave everything like it is...

---------------------------------------------

You can also use partition magic's Boot Magic (chapter 9 of the PartitionMagic 7 manual, chapter 8 of the Partition Magic 8 manual) to be your MBR (and to select either Windows or Linux for booting) or continue to use grub ... I would use grub.

----------------------------------------------
After doing more research, I find that partition magic (if you use BootMagic) hides the non active partiton. SO what I think happened is you booted to linux (which hide the win98 partition) then updated Grub to MBR as psrt of the linux install ... which overwrote BootMagic on MBR, but left the Windows Partition hidden. So unhiding the windows partition might just do the trick....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 04:05 PM