Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Display - Resolution Problem
ktran
post Dec 20 2003, 03:55 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-December 03
Member No.: 1,996



I can't seem to switch my resolution from 800x600 to 1024x768.

I'm currently running;
Redhat Linux 9.0, kernel 2.4.20-8,
Unprobed Monitor with NVIDIA Geforce 4 (generic), with the nvidia drivers from nvidia.com
KDE 3.1

I changed my resolution selection from 800x600 to 1024x768, it saved to /etc/X11/XF86Config,
then I logged out of X window, and relogged into KDE, and it was still the same resolution, 800x600.

Does anyone know what's wrong? blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 21 2003, 10:54 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The problem is probably the unprobed monitor. If RedHat doesn't know the monitor it uses VESA ... which is very limited in the display options.

What is the manufacturer and model number of your monitor?

Do you have any documentation that show vertical and horizontal scan rates for that monitor?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ktran
post Dec 22 2003, 12:59 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-December 03
Member No.: 1,996



My monitor is a 17" Viewmaster monitor.. I can't seem to find the model number at the back.
But, it's the only model in it's class, It's not even flat screen. So I guess it's just a standard 17" monitor.

Vertical and horizontal scan rates? you mean, like the frequencies? It has that information through the function buttons on the monitor.
Under Show Freq, it says;
H: 57.6khz
V: 72.0HZ

btw, thanks for helping! laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 22 2003, 06:49 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



That is the frequencies for the current mode ... we need the frequency specs for the monitor. (Maximum and minumum)

It is critical that you have the right frequency specs ... or you can permanently damage the monitor.

I am hesitant to provide a recommendation because the monitor (and/or video card) can easily be damaged with bad settings ... which is why Linux defaults to safe values when it doesn't know the monitor type.

Please post your Section "Monitor" (to the EndSection)...here is a copy of mine for reference (don't use my numbers ... they are for a NEC Multisync E1100).

CODE
Section "Monitor"
       Identifier      "NEC E1100"
       HorizSync       31.0-82.0
       VertRefresh     55.0-120.0
       Option          "DPMS"
EndSection


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
playahater
post Dec 22 2003, 09:17 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-December 03
Member No.: 2,002



OK, I have the same problem!!
I was trying something which, apparently does not work!! sad.gif
I haven`t install any display drivers ( but i have downloaded them ), but i have tried to change the resolution...then i log out and since then i do not have any graphical enviroment...only console in on the screen when I try to login!! blink.gif
If anyone can tell me how to set the default display settings from the console, so I can get graphical enviroment again and after that how to install the dislplay drivers. biggrin.gif

BTW I have the Mandrake 9.1 on ( abit nf7-s, xp 2400+ tbredb, 512MbPC2700,radeon9000Pro64Mb, )

A fast help reply and maybe some advise would be very appreciated!!

THANX!!
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif


--------------------
Don`t fix it unless its broken!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ktran
post Dec 24 2003, 05:29 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-December 03
Member No.: 1,996



hughesjr,

Okay, I found the User's Manual for the monitor.

CODE
Section "Monitor"
      Identifier      "Viewmaster 17""
      HorizSync       30 to 70KHz (automatically)
      VertRefresh     50 to 120 Hz (automatically)
      Option          (what's option?)
EndSection


I got the HorizSync and VertRefresh EXACTLY how it's written from the specifications page, under "Synchronization, Horizontal/Vertical".

Is there any other information I need to provide?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 25 2003, 10:30 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK ... you should do this:

CODE
Section "Monitor"
      Identifier      "Viewmaster 17"
      HorizSync       30.0-70.0
      VertRefresh     50.0-120.0
EndSection


Then go to the Section "Screen" section and edit the line:

Monitor "whatever it says"

to say

Monitor "Viewmaster 17"


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ktran
post Dec 25 2003, 05:14 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-December 03
Member No.: 1,996



ooo, thanks!
biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:48 PM