Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mouse Problems, laptop internal mouse not working
burner
post Dec 18 2003, 08:20 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-December 03
Member No.: 1,986



Hey, i'm a complete beginner when it comes to linux. I don't know how to do anything with the OS yet so bear with me. I just recently installed RH v.8 on an older ibm thinkpad, everything seems to be running smoothly with RH except the mouse doesn't work. I'm not using an external mouse i'm using the "built in" mouse.(three buttons, and a little red "nipple" between the "G" and "H" keys). I'm wondering if there's any way i can sort this out? But like i said i'm an absolute beginner,any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 18 2003, 11:43 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If your bios has an internal mouse enable/disable ... make sure it is enabled.

What model thinkpad.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burner
post Dec 19 2003, 12:41 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-December 03
Member No.: 1,986



The model is "i series".

When installing it asks what type of mouse, and give's a list. What would i choose for the internal mouse? Maybe that would be the problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 19 2003, 12:45 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



It should have something highlighted (that it thinks it detected), probably a generic 3 button mouse.

As a side note, does the mouse work in the install window...if so pick what it highlighted.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 10:14 PM