Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Screwed Up Xf86config, This is probably pretty common...
ironuckles
post Dec 14 2003, 03:39 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 1,960



I got a little trigger happy when trying to get my NVidia drivers set up and accidentally messed up the XF86Config file. I forgot to change the screen name in one module. I've tried running X -configure and making a new config file and running it with that, but it still doesn't work. X just boots up with the 'x' cursor and I can't do anything. I have a feeling this is a fairly common problem. Anyone have a solution? Please be as detailed as possible, as I'm not entirely familiar with commands yet.

Edit:
BTW, I'm using Mandrake 9.1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post Dec 14 2003, 03:46 PM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



In /etc/X11/xinit is there still a file or symlink called xinit.rc? (I think that's what it's called... I'm not sure, I'm in windows right now). In most distro's this is a symlink that would point to a file like xinit.rc.kde or something. I'm not an expert on X, but that's my two bits.

Eric


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ironuckles
post Dec 14 2003, 04:25 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 1,960



Should I just reinstall X? I dont want to have to reinstall Mandrake since it took me two hours to get my college's stupid network configured in linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ironuckles
post Dec 15 2003, 01:29 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 1,960



Nevermind, I've fixed the problem.
In case anyone else does this, heres how I fixed it.
I went into linux in terminal, and used vim to edit the config file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 15 2003, 07:35 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Glad you got it working...

For informational purposes, you can generate a new XF86Config file with this command:

XFree86 -configure

Here is a great XFree86 4.x tutorial from IBM ... it requires registration.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:55 PM