Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tmp Directory Problems
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 09:36 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



when i try to start kde or anything like that such as x or something...i get errors that the tmp directory cant be written to or is full. What do i need to do to be able to use kde or x or anything but a console. email me if you can help or need more information. admin@linuxinit.50free.net thanks..

linuxinit
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 09:44 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



im in a bind...
im stuck at the command line. i am running debian with
gnome and kde (both of which wont open). it says "starting k desktop manager
done" and lots of other confirmations but some of them say that the
directory cant be found. i have tried "exec gnome-session" but it says:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:
_IceTransSocketUnixCreateListener: mkdir(/tmp/.ICE-unix) failed, errno = 2
_IceTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to create listner for local

**WARNING**: Cannot establish any listening sockets
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
then im sent back to the login prompt if i try "startkde" then i get this:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
xsetroot: unable to open display ' '
xset: unable to open display ""
xset: unable to open display ""
xset: unable to open display ""
Error: Can not create directory "/tmp/kde-root".
Error: Can not create directory "/tmp/kde-rootBEJPtI".
Error: Can not create directory "/tmp/ksocket-root".
Error: Can not create directory "/tmp/ksocket-rootucPHDJ".
ksplash: cannot connect to X server
kdeinit: Aborting. $DISPLAY is not set.
Warning: connect() failed: : No such file or directory
The following installation problem was detected
while trying to start KDE:

Writing to the temp directory (/tmp) failed with
the error 'No such file or directory'

KDE is unable to start.
ksmserver: cannot connect to X server
Error: Can't open display
Warning: connect() failed: : No such file or directory
Error: Can't cantact kdeinit!
can't create /tmp/mcop-root (No such file or directory)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 9 2003, 10:21 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



was this working before?

is /tmp a seperate partition or just a directory under root ?

What is the output of :

df -h

and

mount

and

ls -al / | grep tmp


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 10:27 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



QUOTE (hughesjr @ Dec 9 2003, 10:21 PM)
was this working before?

is /tmp a seperate partition or just a directory under root ?

What is the output of :

df -h

and

mount

and

ls -al / | grep tmp

yes, it was working before. and it is the same partition...under root i guess... im about to try the commands...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 10:51 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



ok,

df -h
no such file or directory

mount
/dev/root on / type xfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)

ls -al / | grep tmp
no such file or directory

also...
i cd'd to the root dir and can see the tmp directory there...
when i try to cd to it then it says that it doesnt exist...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 9 2003, 10:59 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



try this command as root:

chown root:root /tmp
chmod 777 /tmp


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 11:29 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



chown root:root /tmp
failure when obtaining permision '/tmp' directory does not exist
chmod 777 /tmp
failure when obtaining permision '/tmp' directory does not exist
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 11:33 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



QUOTE (linuxinit @ Dec 9 2003, 10:51 PM)
ls -al / | grep tmp

i just realized that those are two commands...let me try them individualy...or is it one command? blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 9 2003, 11:48 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



i have to be at school in the morning... ill try to be back on tommorow...thanks for the help....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 10 2003, 05:39 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



it was one command...

Problems...

1. there seems to be a permissions problem ....several commands (ls, df) are not working, but the error has to do with not finding a directory/file (ie a missing path that the command expects to find)... not that the command itself is invalid or not findable.

2. This can be caused by a mounting problem, a physical disk problem, or an assigned permissions prblem.
----------------------------------------------------
try the command:

ls

then

df

If neither of these work, there is something wierd going on...

You only have / (on /dev/root) and proc mounted...can you print the results of:

cat /etc/fstab


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 10 2003, 08:05 AM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



ok...im about to try it now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 10 2003, 08:52 AM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



ls
tmp is the only directory that doesnt show up
df
the directory does not exist
cat /etc/fstab
(translated)the table of systems cannot be read I gave mounted files : the file or the directory does not exist

also...
when i boot i see mount problems but they go by too fast.
i tried th mkdir tmp and it said that the directory already exists.

and...

/bin/ls -ald /tmp
the directory does not exist

im about to just give up...i dont have a way to reinstall though unless i can find a distro that i can copy the files over to another hd (burner is screwed)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Dec 11 2003, 07:11 AM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Because you used xfs as the file system, it is going to be hard to boot with another distro and read the information.

Are you using debian woody (stable), sarge (testing), or SID (unstable)?

I will try finding a boot disk that reads xfs ... starting with debian 3.0r2. Once I find one, you should be able to boot to that, put in a second drive, and copy everything you want to keep onto the second drive.

I know the gentoo boot disc can read xfs ...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
linuxinit
post Dec 11 2003, 08:15 AM
Post #14


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,934



im bringing the laptop home and am going to burn a few isos. im just going to reinstall. unless there is anything easier to do, but that seems like the easiest thing to do. im going to use ALT Linux Junior 2.2 for now since it is one disc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 07:24 PM