Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Suse Connection Issues
yakimasy
post Nov 12 2002, 10:09 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-November 02
Member No.: 140



I am dual booting SUSE 8.0 with WIN XP pro - I can connect to the internet fine with win xp

I am unable to connect to the internet with SUSE

My computer is networked through a Linksys router and I am configuring SUSE DHCP - when I take the router out of the picture SUSE is able to obtain an ip, but I am still unable to browse - when I hook the router back up I am unable to obtain an ip and unable to browse

In both cases I am able to ping localhost
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 3)
chrisw
post Nov 12 2002, 10:20 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



be sure your linksys router is setup to be a dhcp server so it can give your linux box an ip address....another thing...youll always be able to ping localhost so pinging localhost wont help in this situation...


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yakimasy
post Nov 12 2002, 10:24 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-November 02
Member No.: 140



Just out of curiosity...would win xp be able to connect to the internet if the os was set dhcp and the router was not?

I know a lot about windows, but when it comes to Linux and Networking I am a sad newbie.

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Nov 13 2002, 09:02 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



if win xp is set to dhcp and the router is not...then win xp wont be able to get an ip address to connect to the internet....
to fix your linux situation...you either need to set your router to serve out ip addresses and leave your linux box as dhcp or set give your linux
box a static ip address.

what do you mean by your router is not set to dhcp....you mean by
that the router wont give out ip addresses like a dhcp server would do..OR..that you have a ip assigned to you by your ISP for the WAN side of your router and that is DHCP


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 04:21 PM