Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cluster Help!, Newbie, plz help me!
computerwhiz187
post Nov 23 2003, 09:21 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,855

Hello,
I am new to linux and really could use some help. I want to set up a cluster (the type i believe is a paralell computing cluster, or the type that makes the clustered computers work together to increase the speed. I heard you can do this with mandrake so i downloaded it but need some help. my one master two node cluster is currently running windows 2000, but i need linux to give me the speed boost (each comp is 3GHz, so i am shooting for 9GHz). I know you can do it with linux but the thing is i need to be running linux and windows simultaneously so i can have the fast speed with linux and be using windows to run everyday programs (games, etc.). I am just not sure how to do it. Do i partition the hard drive, i heard about a program called VMware, am i using the right kind of linux for this, how can i make the 2 operating systems run at the same time?!? I am a newbie, so more basic explanations will be greatly appreciated. I am fighting a fast approaching deadline and am feeling trapped! Thank you for your time
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
wolfsta
post Nov 24 2003, 01:33 AM
Post #2

Grub-er

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,836

Hey... i dont know anything bout ur clustering problem but if u want to run windows and linux at the same time and on the same computer VMWare is a great solution.

If you partition your harddrive you will have to choose which one you want to boot... not allowing both at the same time.