Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rpm Executable Runs Only As Root, Do not know how to change to normal user
spud
post Nov 22 2003, 03:34 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 22-November 03
Member No.: 1,845



Hi,

Using Linux-Mandrake 9.1 and the XFS filesystem, I installed successfully
BillardGL-1.75-6.i386.rpm using Kpackage, which requires root access.
Originally, I could run the program as regular user. However, after a power
outage (with two partial reboots) something seems to have been messed up. The
program ceased to load. All other programs are unaffected.

So, I uninstalled the program, and re-installed the rpm package using first
Kpackage, then from command line. It refuses to load. I finally went to the
executable in /usr/X11R6/bin/BillardGL and looked at permissions: rwxr-xr-x
root:root. I can run the program as root, but not as a normal user,
regardless whether I change ownership/permissions to the file.

I gather that the directory is under root permissions, and thus is not
accessible to a normal user.

Would anyone have any idea what might have happened to make this program
suddenly unavailable to a normal user? Since I cannot run Kpackage as a
normal user for installation, how can I get around the root ownership and run
the prog normally? Btw, I set ownership/permissions to user in the
/usr/X11R6/bin directory.

Perhaps I missing something obvious here - any help, pointers, or advice would
be greatly appreciated.

Tia,
Andre
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 23 2003, 06:27 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Sometimes this can be a path issue....

Check the user's path using the command:

env | grep PATH

see if /usr/X11R6/bin/ is in the user's path.

Also, when inside a directory, you must run a program with the command:

./BillardGL or the full path /usr/X11R6/bin/BillardGL.

I will download this package and see if I can find anything else.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spud
post Nov 23 2003, 12:35 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 22-November 03
Member No.: 1,845



Thanks for the ideas . . .

/usr/X11R6/bin is in the PATH statement, and using (not at root):

cd /usr/X11R6/bin
./BillardGL

results in:

header (copyright notice)
segmentation fault

Seems like it won't let me use this prog unless I'm root. Strange though, I used the same rpm installed successfully for over two months. There must be something missing since I was able before to run as normal user.

Andre
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spud
post Nov 24 2003, 11:17 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 22-November 03
Member No.: 1,845



Finally solved the problem:

I had made a change to the icon that I had loaded for BillardGL on the
taskbar. After the power outage (and double incomplete reboots), I had
deleted the icon. Apparently, this caused a problem for the called program
since a residual entry remained.

After deleting the old icon entry in:

~/.kde/share/kicker

things are back to normal.

Thanks again for your help,
Regards,
Andre
smile.gif smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 25 2003, 05:53 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Good job ... corrupt files can be very hard to track down.

I was going to suggest reinstalling every dependancy to that program ... which would not have done anything!


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 06:10 AM