Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Permanant File Permission Changes... How?, Cant figure this one out.
Bacardi34
post Nov 22 2003, 12:35 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 13-September 03
Member No.: 1,429



Hey,
I have a few devices that are set to su only and each time i change the permissions "chmod a+rx" and i restart/shutdown they get reset. Is there any command that will make these changes perm?
Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 22 2003, 12:50 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You didn't mention your distro ... some distro's use a dynamic system called devfs and require you to be a member of a certian group (like audio,video, etc.) to have access to certian devices...

What is your distro and what devices do you need access to?

If there isn't already an easy fix, and if you can do a chmod command to make the changes as root ... we can write a startup script (to run as root) and make the changes on every startup.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bacardi34
post Nov 22 2003, 12:55 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 13-September 03
Member No.: 1,429



Sorry about the distro, its Red Hat 9, and i need access to some USB cammeras that are hooked up to it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 23 2003, 06:40 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



usb works differently ... I 'm assuming that when you plug it in, it's detected and something happens (a file system is mounted maybe).

Here are a couple more questions...

Is the file system auto mounted when you plug in the camera, or do you have to mount it as root?

If it is automounted, is there a mount line in /etc/fstab that contains the directory that you go to for access to the pictures?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 12:53 PM