Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Java Media Framework On Red Hat 9.0, LD_LIBRARY_PATH setup help
untz
post Nov 22 2003, 05:23 AM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 1,725



Hello...

I am trying to configure JMF 2.1.1 so it could work properly on Linux (Red Hat 9.0)...

After looking at the instructions on:

http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/jm...etup-linux.html

I created a shell script called java.sh (located in /etc/profile.d/

and these are the contents:

export JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_02
export J2EE_HOME=/usr/java/j2sdkee1.3
export JMF_HOME=/usr/java/JMF-2.1.1e
export ANT_HOME=/usr/local/ant/apache-ant-1.5.4/
export CLASSPATH=.:$JAVA_HOME/lib/tools.jar:$JAVA_HOME/lib/jre/rt.jar:$J2EE_HOME/lib/j2ee.jar:$JMF_HOME/lib/jmf.jar
export PATH=$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin:$J2EE_HOME/bin:$ANT_HOME/bin:$JMF_HOME/bin
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$JMF_HOME/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Ok. I saved the file. And then from the command line ran it like this:

$ source java.sh

When I go to the diagnostic applet (in order to test if my JMF is working correctly) this is what I get:

JMF Diagnostics:
Java 1.1. compliant browser....Maybe
JMF classes.....Not Found

The URL for this diagnostic tool is:

http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/jm...iagnostics.html

If I echo the CLASSPATH & LD_LIBRARY_PATH this is what I get:

$ echo $CLASSPATH
.:/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_02/lib/tools.jar:/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_02/lib/jre/rt.jar:/usr/java/j2sdkee1.3/lib/j2ee.jar:/usr/java/JMF-2.1.1e/lib/jmf.jar

$ echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
/usr/java/JMF-2.1.1e/lib:

From the best of my knowledge, the LD_LIBRARY_PATH is the name of the shared libraries system environmental variable on Solaris... Is there a similar one on Linux, particularly Red Hat 9.0?

Thanks.

-Unnsse
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 23 2003, 07:55 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



In linux, there is a file called /etc/ld.so.conf where you add the directories (one on each line) to the file ... after exiting, issue the command:

ldconfig

(I run ldconfig twice because there used to be a bug in RH8, and it doesn't hurt anything)

I always put:

/lib
/usr/lib
/usr/local/lib
/usr/X11R6/lib

In my ld.so.conf at first ... other things get added as programs are installed...

Try adding the full path ...

/usr/java/JMF-2.1.1e/lib

to ld.so.conf ... not $JMFHOME/lib


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
untz
post Nov 27 2003, 11:35 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 1,725



Huges Jr.,

Thank you very much for the response! I followed your directions and it still didn't work in the diagnostic tool... I wonder if I have the library path system user environmental variable set up correctly... Here's what my java.sh looks like under /etc/profile.d/

export JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_02
export J2EE_HOME=/usr/java/j2sdkee1.3
export JMF_HOME=/usr/java/JMF-2.1.1e
export ANT_HOME=/usr/local/ant/apache-ant-1.5.4/
export CLASSPATH=.:$JAVA_HOME/lib/tools.jar:$JAVA_HOME/lib/jre/rt.jar:$J2EE_HOME/lib/j2ee.jar:$JMF_HOME/lib/jmf.jar
export PATH=$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin:$J2EE_HOME/bin:$ANT_HOME/bin:$JMF_HOME/bin
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$JMF_HOME/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Here's what my ld.so.conf looks like:

/usr/kerberos/lib
/usr/X11R6/lib
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/lib
/usr/local/lib
/usr/lib/sane
/usr/java/JMF-2.1.1e/lib

When I type ldconfig, nothing happens, so I figured that what the natural response...

After I go to the diagnostics tool, its still says "No Libraries Found!"

http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/jm...iagnostics.html

Here are what Sun Recommends doing:

http://java.sun.com/products/java-media/jm...etup-linux.html

Can anyone help?

-Unnsse
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 28 2003, 06:16 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



BTW,

LD_LIBRARY_PATH also works for ld ... it just has to be setup separetly for each user.
----------------------
I'll fire up my test RH9 box and see what I can do...

----------------UPDATE-----------------------------------------
I can't download the product right now ... It times out connecing to here.

I'll try again later...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
untz
post Dec 9 2003, 05:06 AM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 1,725



I still can't get it working & I haven't heard a response on this... Can anyone help me?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 04:51 PM