Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> /mnt/cdrom
fobius
post Nov 20 2003, 12:40 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,334



Hi,

I seem to have a problem with my cdrom drive. It was working before but now when I try to access /mnt/cdrom, it keeps telling me that I have a input/output error.

Any ideas?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Nov 20 2003, 02:44 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



do you know if the cd you are trying to read is good?
or does the happen with all cd's you try to use?


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 20 2003, 06:17 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Also ... you don't mount Audio/Video CDs for use ... only data CDs. I only bring this up because you didn't specify wether you were mount a data cd or not.

The command:

ls -al /dev | grep cdrom

Should give you a result similar to this (with no hdx=ide-scsi in your bootloader ... x is a,b,c or d if you use ide):

QUOTE
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root    root          11 2003-11-14 12:43 cdrom -> /dev/hdx
brw-rw----    1 root    disk      22,  0 Jan 30  2003 hdx



or this (with hdx=ide-scsi in your bootloader or debian's 2.4.22 kernel):

QUOTE
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root    root          11 2003-11-14 12:43 cdrom -> /dev/cdrom0
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root    root            9 2003-11-14 12:43 cdrom0 -> /dev/scd0
brw-rw----    1 root    cdrom    11,  0 2002-03-14 15:54 scd0


If you have recently changed the cdrom from primary to slave or added a hard drive the link may be pointing to the wrong drive.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fobius
post Nov 21 2003, 03:44 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,334



hmm..I didn't know you couldn't use audio or video cd's. i tried the command you gave me and it gave me something simliar to what you posted. i'll try a data cd and see if there's difference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 21 2003, 06:17 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You can USE audio and video CD's in CDROM/DVD drives ... you JUST don't have to (and in fact you CAN'T) mount them in order to play them with programs like XMMS, Mplayer, etc.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 10:43 AM