Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mozzilla And Gnome, Getting Mozilla to open a new window...
voodoo
post Nov 15 2003, 02:13 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 1,252



I am using Gnome and have a launcher in my panel to start Mozilla, it works and all, but what command can I have it run so rather than opening an entirely new instance of Mozilla (ie have to choose another profile) it would instead open a new Navigator window, and not make me use a different profile. I'm sure it can't be too hard to do, just one of them obscure things that aren't really documented.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 15 2003, 03:24 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Just use the File - New Window option on the Mozilla Menu ... or press Ctrl-N instead of clicking the external program launcher.

If you use Mozilla-Firebird instead of Mozilla, you can add a New-Window or New-Tab icon to the toolbar as well.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
voodoo
post Nov 15 2003, 03:53 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 1,252



I know that, but that is not at all what I mean. Here is a scenario, say Im running Gnome with the usual 4 desktop's, and on desktop 1 I have a mozilla window, but I'm looking at desktop3 and want to look at something real quick in Mozilla, right now I have to switch back to desktop 1, then open a new window from the mozilla window all ready there. But what I want to do is just say on desktop3 and click the launcher for mozilla on my panel and have that open a new window. It works somthing like this in Windows (except the diff desktop's of course)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 15 2003, 04:22 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I know the problem you are talking about, because I have had it myself before ... but the good news is that my mozilla on Debian right now will allow me to click on it more than once without creating a second profile.

I looked in the settings and I don't see anyway to change it, so I don't know exactly how. My version of Mozilla is 1.5-3 for debian. My mozilla-firebird also allows me to start it in seperate desktops...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
voodoo
post Nov 15 2003, 04:26 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 1,252



So what command is being run when you click on the mozilla icon? Does it just launch the executable or is there some arguments passed to it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 15 2003, 04:40 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I was just looking at that ... it runs a script named /usr/bin/mozilla .... here is a copy of the script:

CODE
#!/bin/sh
#
# The contents of this file are subject to the Netscape Public
# License Version 1.1 (the "License"); you may not use this file
# except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of
# the License at http://www.mozilla.org/NPL/
#
# Software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS
# IS" basis, WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, either express or
# implied. See the License for the specific language governing
# rights and limitations under the License.
#
# The Original Code is mozilla.org code.
#
# The Initial Developer of the Original Code is Netscape
# Communications Corporation.  Portions created by Netscape are
# Copyright (C) 1998 Netscape Communications Corporation. All
# Rights Reserved.
#
# Contributor(s):
#

##
## Usage:
##
## $ mozilla
##
## This script is meant to run a mozilla program from the mozilla
## rpm installation.
##
## The script will setup all the environment voodoo needed to make
## mozilla work.

VERSION=1.5

# Bug#122990
TERM=xterm
export TERM

cmdname=`basename $0`

## don't leave any core files around
ulimit -c 0

##
## Variables
##
MOZ_DIST_BIN="/usr/lib/mozilla"
MOZ_PROGRAM="/usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin"
MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM="/usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-xremote-client"

##
## find /dev/dsp handler
##
if [ -f $HOME/.mozillarc ]; then
   . $HOME/.mozillarc
elif [ -f /etc/mozilla/mozillarc ]; then
   . /etc/mozilla/mozillarc
fi

if [ -z  $MOZILLA_DSP ]; then
   MOZILLA_DSP="auto"
fi

if [ "$MOZILLA_DSP" = "auto" ]; then
    MOZILLA_DSP=""
    P=`fuser /dev/dsp  | sed -e 's#^/dev/dsp:##' `
    if [ -n "$P" ]; then
 if echo $P | xargs ps -p | grep esd >/dev/null 2>&1; then MOZILLA_DSP=esddsp;
 elif echo $P | xargs ps -p | grep arts >/dev/null 2>&1; then MOZILLA_DSP=artsdsp; fi
    fi
elif [ "$MOZILLA_DSP" = "none" ];then
    MOZILLA_DSP=""
fi

if type $MOZILLA_DSP > /dev/null 2>&1; then
    # echo "Using $MOZILLA_DSP."
    MOZ_PROGRAM="$MOZILLA_DSP $MOZ_PROGRAM"
fi

##
## Set MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME
##
MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME="/usr/lib/mozilla"

export MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME

##
## Set LD_LIBRARY_PATH
##
if [ "$LD_LIBRARY_PATH" ]

then
 LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/mozilla:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:/usr/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
else
 LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/mozilla:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:/usr/lib
fi

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

##
## Set FONTCONFIG_PATH for Xft/fontconfig
##
# disabled on debian
#FONTCONFIG_PATH="/etc/fonts:${MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME}/res/Xft"
#export FONTCONFIG_PATH

# Figure out if we need to ser LD_ASSUME_KERNEL for older versions of the JVM.

set_jvm_vars () {

   if [ ! -L /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so ]; then
    return;
   fi

   JVM_LINK=`perl -e 'print readlink("/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so")'`

   # is it relative?  if so append the full path

   echo "${JVM_LINK}" | grep -e "^/" 2>&1 > /dev/null

   if [ "$?" -ne "0" ]; then
    JVM_LINK=/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/${JVM_LINK}
   fi

   JVM_BASE=`basename $JVM_LINK`
   JVM_DIR=`echo $JVM_LINK | sed -e s/$JVM_BASE//g`
   JVM_COMMAND=$JVM_DIR/java
   if [ ! -r $JVM_COMMAND ]; then
      JVM_DIR=${JVM_DIR}../../../bin/
      JVM_COMMAND=$JVM_DIR/java
      # does the command exist?
      if [ ! -r "$JVM_COMMAND" ]; then
          return
      fi
   fi

   # export this temporarily - it seems to work with old and new
   # versions of the JVM.
   export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5

   # get the version
   JVM_VERSION=`$JVM_COMMAND -version 2>&1 | grep version | cut -f 3 -d " " | sed -e 's/"//g'`

   unset LD_ASSUME_KERNEL

   case "$JVM_VERSION" in
    (1.3.0*)
    # bad JVM
    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.2.5
;;
   esac
}

check_running () {
   $MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM 'ping()' 2>/dev/null >/dev/null
   RETURN_VAL=$?
   if [ "$RETURN_VAL" -eq "2" ]; then
     echo 0
     return 0
   else
     echo 1
     return 1
   fi
}

open_mail () {
   if [ "${ALREADY_RUNNING}" -eq "1" ]; then
     exec $MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM 'xfeDoCommand(openInbox)'
       2>/dev/null >/dev/null
   else
     exec $MOZ_PROGRAM $*
   fi
}

open_compose () {
   if [ "${ALREADY_RUNNING}" -eq "1" ]; then
     exec $MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM 'xfeDoCommand(composeMessage)'
       2>/dev/null >/dev/null
   else
     exec $MOZ_PROGRAM $*
   fi
}

# OK, here's where all the real work gets done

# set our JVM vars
set_jvm_vars

# check to see if there's an already running instance or not
ALREADY_RUNNING=`check_running`

# If there is no command line argument at all then try to open a new
# window in an already running instance.
if [ "${ALREADY_RUNNING}" -eq "1" ] && [ -z "$1" ]; then
 exec $MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM "xfeDoCommand(openBrowser)" 2>/dev/null >/dev/null
fi

# if there's no command line argument and there's not a running
# instance then just fire up a new copy of the browser
if [ -z "$1" ]; then
 exec $MOZ_PROGRAM 2>/dev/null >/dev/null
fi

unset RETURN_VAL

# If there's a command line argument but it doesn't begin with a -
# it's probably a url.  Try to send it to a running instance.

USE_EXIST=0
opt="$1"
case "$opt" in
 -mail)
     open_mail ${1+"$@"}
    ;;
 -compose)
     open_compose ${1+"$@"}
    ;;
 -*);;
 *) USE_EXIST=1;;
esac

if [ "${USE_EXIST}" -eq "1" ] && [ "${ALREADY_RUNNING}" -eq "1" ]; then
 # check to make sure that the command contains at least a :/ in it.
 echo $opt | grep -e ':/' 2>/dev/null > /dev/null
 RETURN_VAL=$?
 if [ "$RETURN_VAL" -eq "1" ]; then
   # if it doesn't begin with a '/' and it exists when the pwd is
   # prepended to it then append the full path
   echo $opt | grep -e '^/' 2>/dev/null > /dev/null
   RETURN_VAL=$?
   if [ "${RETURN_VAL}" -ne "0" ] && [ -e `pwd`/$opt ]; then
     opt="`pwd`/$opt"
   fi
   exec $MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM "openurl($opt,new-window)" 2>/dev/null >/dev/null
 fi
 # just pass it off if it looks like a url
 exec $MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM "openurl($opt,new-window)" 2>/dev/null >/dev/null
fi

exec $MOZ_PROGRAM ${1+"$@"}

---------------------------
You may be able to change the variables MOZ_DIST_BIN, MOZ_PROGRAM, and MOZ_CLIENT_PROGRAM to point to your locations (if they are different) and use this script....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
voodoo
post Nov 15 2003, 04:59 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 1,252



Thanks, I just found something kind of like that, it looks like running a shell script is the only way. The one you provided might be the Netscape Starter Script because that's the other different one that I have foun, I found another one that supposedly has some other options if you want to have Mozilla start in some other advanced ways, supposedly makes remote commands work right, I'm gonna give it a shot later on tonight.

URL:
http://kingant.net/?p=mss
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 03:37 PM