Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Suse Evaluation Disk Problems, Freezes during installation.
compiler
post Nov 7 2003, 05:06 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,765

Hello World,

I am a complete newbie to all forms of Linux. After some quick research, I decided to give Suse Linux a try. I found their Evaluation Disk file that allows you to boot Linux from a CD wihout going head first into drive partitioning and such. After a day of downloading and burning, the disk appears to work. However, after the first installation, the software begins to load the gui (I think) and then freezes. Some possible hints to the problem: I am using a few month old laptop, I just installed all the latest Windows Updates, I have System Restore turned on, to get the system to boot from the CD I entered setup and changed the load order. I'll try to post some pictures of various loading stages.

As a lifelong Windows user, I know there is a better way. Thank you for any help you can give.

Sincerely,
Compiler
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
compiler
post Nov 7 2003, 07:59 PM
Post #2

Here are the pictures. The text is blurry, but you can see the general startup procedure.
First, I change the boot order:

Next, the Welcome Screen:
[img]http://www.geocities.com/arklatexgemandmineralclub/linux/welcome.JPG[/img]

Then the Shell Loading:
[img]http://www.geocities.com/arklatexgemandmineralclub/linux/loadingshell.JPG[/img]

Then more loading:
[img]http://www.geocities.com/arklatexgemandmineralclub/linux/loading.JPG[/img]

Towards the end of loading:
[img]http://www.geocities.com/arklatexgemandmineralclub/linux/startingup.JPG[/img]

And finally, this is the failing point: