Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

> Boot Problem, Dang !!! Linux wont boot
Bugsnacker
post Nov 6 2002, 04:37 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 121

Hi linux gurus. I'm new to linux but have decided to take the plunge. I have installed Redhat 7.0 but I can't get it to boot (sound familiar) I have a dual boot system running Win98SE. I have installed a second hard drive especially for linux. Both hard drives are on the primary IDE channel (Windows on hda and linux on hdb). I have formatted my second hard drive with native linux using Partition Magic and created 3 partitions. /boot (100meg) , / (5.5gig) and swap (500megs). Everything seems to install correctly, Disk Durid finds my partitions on hdb and does the format without reporting any problem, Xconfig found my vid card and my monitor and tested OK. I continue with the install and after all the packages are finished loading I'm prompted to reboot. I reboot, lilo fires up with the choice of Windoze or Linux, I choose Linux and that's about as far as we get. The system locks up and I'm stuck. I've tried a ctrl X at the lilo menu and then typed linux at the command prompt. Again it just locks up.

What am I doing wrong? does /boot have to be on hda? or am I just really stupid :-) /boot is the first patition on hdb so I don't think linux should have any trouble finding it.

Help
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
Corey
post Nov 7 2002, 09:20 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3