Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem Booting With Lilo, can't launch window$
aWM
post Nov 3 2003, 05:39 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-November 03
Member No.: 1,741



hi everybody

i had linux and win me on the same hdd with dual boot, and everything worked fine
but i played with mandrake's partitions manager and i broke a linux partition
then i deleted my linux partitions and i re-installed it
it works fine again now, but i can't launch win with lilo at boot sad.gif

could possibly someone help me please ? ohmy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Nov 3 2003, 07:40 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You probably need to add windows back into your lilo.conf file. What partition/drive is your windows install on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aWM
post Nov 3 2003, 11:59 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-November 03
Member No.: 1,741



windows is installed on a fat32 partition on a C: drive, if that is your question huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Nov 3 2003, 02:42 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



But what partition is it in Linux ?

Use this command in Linux :

fdisk -l

Are there any partitons that say FAT 32, DOS, Win95 FAT, etc. listed ... if so what is the partition listed (ie /dev/hda1, /dev/hda2, etc.).

If the windows partiton is /dev/hda1 then add these lines to the bottom of your /etc/lil.conf file:

other=/dev/hda1
label=Windows

The run the command:

lilo

If there are no errors, reboot and you should be able to select Windows. If your windows partiton is other than /dev/hda1, substitute the correct partition in the other= line...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 05:26 PM