Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake Or Redhat?, Me=newbie.. redhat or mandrake?
Madaray
post Oct 31 2003, 12:07 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,732

I just want to know the big differenses between redhat and mandrake?
Since i am a newbie.. and really want to learn Linux from scratch with an easy and a nice looking interface.. wich one should i use?
i have run redhat 6 earlier but only for a short time. so i have seen it before..
i just want the easiest to install and something that looks good (so i dont get bored and quit)
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 31 2003, 01:22 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

Either RedHat or Mandrake will work to teach you Linux. I personally like RedHat better, but with the move by RedHat to use Fedora for their free software and their shift to an enterprise only offering, Mandrake might be the better option.

I think I would still recommend RedHat with Gnome as the GUI ... and if you wait until Monday, you should be able to Fedora Cambridge (RedHat Severn). It has Gnome 2.4, KDE 3.1.4, XFree86 4.3.0, Mozilla 1.4 and OpenOffice 1.1.

Mandrake 9.2 is also just out and a good bet.

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE

+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 31 2003, 02:11 PM
Post #3

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3