Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 3 Questions Regarding File Structure And Sftp, Red Hat 9
axioss
post Oct 25 2003, 04:29 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,694

Hi,

Can anyone advise me on the best way to break up a 160 drive for red hat 9. Since I am fairly new to linux I wanted some suggetions. Currently I bought this drive with the intentions of backing up my other two drives, bootable that is.
Other setup I think is poor but I knew no better. I have a 20GB drive (scsi) with RH9 on it (home, boot, bin, everything but var on this scsi drive) then I put the /var dir on the 80GB EIDE drive (which I ended up storing movies, software, etc) and where many go to sftp stuff off of it. Now it seems pretty wastfull to have 20GB dedicated to everything (when I have no users) and I don't have any users but myself, can forsee at most maybe 2 or 3, but small allowences. So what I would like to do is build this new 160GB drive correctly amd I am not even sure it was a good idea to put /var on 80GB. I originally thought to keep the OS on the faster drive (scsi), but now I am less certain.

Next Question: Is there any RPM's that I can install that will allow live monitor usage of SFTP, including the files, direcories they are downloading?

Last Q: now that my server is configured for ssh,vnc,sftp,appache can I easily either transfer the config files to the new os install or somehow copy the current OS to the new drive and still be bootable?

Thanks. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 28 2003, 01:51 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

A file directory structure is all in a matter of taste and usefulness. Let me shed some light: