Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help! - Remote Client/terminal
lieutenantdaily
post Oct 10 2003, 12:57 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,594

Hello all..

I am new to the whole Linux thing, so I hope i dont sound like an idiot smile.gif

Anyways... here's my question. Is it possible to connect to my linux x-windows desktop from my win xp computer in a LAN?

I know such a thing exists... i just dont know where to find it. I would prefer it be free if possible smile.gif

Thanks,
Lt. Daily
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ankleteeth
post Oct 10 2003, 01:12 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 1,567

I recommend you try VNC here Its a remote desktop control, to where you can veiw your x windows desktop form a windows or another xwindows, or actually even anywhere there is a browser, and internet access.

+Quote Post
Corey
post Oct 10 2003, 03:25 PM
Post #3

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

Another way you can do this is with XDMCP. To use this, you need to have a login manager running such as xdm, kdm or gdm on the linux system. Go into the configuration file (usually named kderc and resides somewhere in your kde prefix) and scrolldown to the Xdmcp section. set Enable=True, Port=177, save and exit.

Now, edit your Xaccess file to restrict access to the daemon (by default, it allows every host to get a login prompt, they are still required to use a legit username and password though). When you have that saved, restart your kdm daemon.