Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cannot Connect To Smtp On Postfix
paintcheck200
post Oct 1 2003, 05:17 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-October 03
Member No.: 1,557



I've been digging most of the night.

Here is the deal.

Class C network 192.168.1.0,subnet 255.255.255.0 server is 192.168.1.2

I can telnet to "localhost 25" and it connects ok and says postfix blah blah blah.

I can't connect if I telnet to "192.168.1.2" - connection refused.

Any ideas???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 1 2003, 05:42 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Look at the inet_interfaces variable in the main.cf file ... it hsould be either:

inet_interfaces=all

or

inet_interfaces=192.168.1.2 localhost


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
paintcheck200
post Oct 1 2003, 06:56 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-October 03
Member No.: 1,557



hehe ,

I just was about to come here and post the same thing. I appreciate the help biggrin.gif
My post from another forum
.....
QUOTE
Figured it out..

This was in config -

inet_interfaces = localhost

I just commented out and I believe postfix will now listen on all network interfaces??  ... Thats ok, cuase I only have 1.

http://www.postfix.org/basic.html#inet_interfaces
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 2 2003, 07:03 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Yep,

The default (if there is no inet_interfaces variable) is inet_interfaces=all ...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 04:39 PM