Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cdrom Woes, data, no audio
Nzyme
post Oct 1 2003, 10:58 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,556

Hi,

I'm a linux newbie (new as in 4 days old), so i need some hand-holding help. Here's my problem:

when i first installed Mandrake 9.1, i had no audio at all (no mp3s, no cds). i messed around in mandrake control (i'm using KDE, btw) and reconfigured (i think) the driver for my soundcard and i was able to listen to mp3s. However, if i try to play an audio cd using a basic program like KsCD, it doesn't even recognize the audio CD. I can access the drive to transfer data files no problem. I know the drive works because i was running WinXP (more like LoseXP) and it worked fine. The drive is an older Plexwriter (12/10/32A).

the drive was automatically mounted (i don't really understand what that means). if i put an audio CD in and try to just access the files, i get the following error:

Could not enter directory /mnt/cdrom

so i can't even view the contents of the CD - wierd!

some of the postings say that you don't have to mount cd drives, but i don't really know what that means, so i don't know how to unmount a drive either.

thanks in advance for your help!

Nzyme
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Oct 1 2003, 03:38 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

Do you have the audio cable connected between the CDROM and the sound card?

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE