Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing Mandrake Linux, Trouble installing mandrake linux 9.1
eroica
post Sep 27 2003, 11:09 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 1,534



hello there,
New 2 linux and wonder if someone can guide me. bought new mandrake linux power suite 9.1 for an old ibm thinkpad 390 pii 233mhz. cant get it 2 install. as i go thru installation process when it starts installing packages i keep on getting error messages "there was an error installing packages: readline-4.3-4mdk.i586" then i click yes for continue and keep on getting other messages for other packages like "locales-2.3.14-6mdk.i586" and "Setup-2.3.0-1mdk.i586" and other numerous error messages of the same type. some packages would install, it seemed. after 2 1/2 hours of installation process i gave up and tried the installation in text mode and same exact trouble. the hardware is standard for the thinkpad except i added an linksys etherfast pc card. does anyone have any suggestions on how to proceed. is something up w/my disro disc's? is this common and should just keep on going till end?? Like I said any and all help welcome.....


alan

p.s.- disc's were bought off e-bay at the linuxbsd store
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 27 2003, 11:19 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



how big is your hard drive .... your root partition can need to be as large as 5GB to install all Mandrake 9.1 packages....The standard Hard Drive for thinkpad 390 was i think 4.3GB.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eroica
post Sep 27 2003, 12:08 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 1,534



its a 6gb fujitsu. i had 2 replace the original 3.2 gb. i'm using the whole disk for the linux installation....

alan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 27 2003, 12:53 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



It would seem that the discs have errors OR that something is not being detected correctly.

Is there an option to check the media ... and this is obvious, but make sure there are no fingerprints on the CD's.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 09:32 PM