Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Redhat 9 Not Loading After Installation
ohadezr
post Sep 26 2003, 03:25 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 1,531



i have windows xp on this computer and ive install redhat 9 on a new hard drive.
after the installation the computer restart but its not loading!
its start to but it stops on the this line:

APM: BIOS VERSION 1.2 FLAGS 0X03 (DRIVER VERSION 1.16)

AND ONE MORE THING!
MY INTEL BIOS IS THE LAST ONE
THE PLUG AND PLAY IS OFF!

PLEASE HELP! sad.gif sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 26 2003, 05:25 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Are you using grub or lilo as the boot loader .... the default is grub, so that is the advice I will give...

Try using the noapic switch on the kernel line of grub for the kernel you normally boot from. Here is how:

When you see the GRUB screen, press e .... then move down to the kernel line ... normally the second line, and press e again to edit that line. At the end of the line, add a space and then the command noapic, then press the Enter key.

My kernel line looks like this:

kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.20-20.9smp ro root=LABEL=/

so I would change it to look like this:

kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.20-20.9smp ro root=LABEL=/ noapic

then press b to boot after the line is changed...

If it works, edit the file /boot/grub/menu.lst and add a space and noapic to the end of the kernel line and save the file.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ohadezr
post Sep 27 2003, 02:13 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 1,531



hi, i did what you told me...
but it didnt help at all (!)

please ppl... HELPPPPPPPP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 27 2003, 05:45 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Is there an APM setting in your BIOS? If so, is it enabled or disabled?

When you find the APM setting, try changing the options.

Here is some info from the net:

https://lists.dulug.duke.edu/pipermail/dulu...ust/012354.html

http://www.redhat.com/archives/valhalla-li...y/msg00604.html

-----------------------------------------------------
The problem is APM and your BIOS ... so if adjusting the BIOS doesn't work, making apmd not start on startup should fix the problem ... see the second link in this post.

Is this a regular PC or LAPTOP?

You're sure you have the latest BIOS?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ohadezr
post Sep 27 2003, 01:57 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 1,531



didnt help at all!
apm is off

will someone save me????????????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
voodoo
post Sep 28 2003, 04:06 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 1,252



Does the boot loader start up correctly? If not then try either reinstalling redhat or using recovery or resuce mode, whatever red hat calls it, just boot the install cd and look at the options. You will need to reinstall the boot loader, its easier to just let the set up utility do it.

If the boot loader starts correctly, can you boot into windows successfully?

One other thing if BL not loading, did you double check you installed the bootloader on the MBR of the drive that gets booted by the bios?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 09:04 AM