Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Cant Set Up The X Gui For Mandrake 6.0...
RIT0296
post Sep 18 2003, 10:03 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-September 03
Member No.: 1,464



i just installed mandrake 6.0 basically cause i already had the cd on me. anyways, when i tried to configure my monitor and graphics card settings, X windows was really messed up. first of all my monitor was not listed and when i did a custom, i was able to choose resolution and refresh rate but my specific vertical frequency range was not listed. then when choosing my graphics card setup, my particular card was again not listed so i did a custom and still no luck.

can anyone help me out here?

thanks
eric
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Sep 18 2003, 10:59 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Seems like Mandrake 6 is a little on the old side, is it possible that your hardware is newer then the distribution itself? Not too long ago I attempted to install Redhat 5.2 on my current system, and it wouldn't take without a lot of effort.

Maybe you should invest in a newer release, just a suggestion.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 19 2003, 06:33 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I just had the same issue as duende trying to install Redhat 5.2 as a test machine to try and help someone here ... I couldn't get it to install on any of my pentium III machines at first. After I reduced the memory to 512-768mb I got it to install, but there where many other problems ... and I never got a stable install. All my problems were because the 2.0 Kernel didn't properly interact with the newer hardware. If I upgraded the kernel to 2.4 then everything went well...but it wasn't really redhat 5.2 any longer!

I would highly recommend you install a newer version of Linux than Mandrake 6.0, unless you have hardware that is compatible with it. (I would say a Pentium 75-233, or PII up to 400) ... If you have a pentium II/400 or better chip, Mandrake 8.0 is the oldest install I would do (Actually, if you have 128mb ram and a pIII or better, Mandrake 9.1 is what I recommend, and Mandrake 9.2 should be released in just a week or two).

Mandrake 6.0 is based on the Linux 2.2 Kernel ... which is a little newer than the 2.0 kernel that I was trying to install with RedHat 5.2, but it won't work properly with hardware that is released after it was designed.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 12:43 PM