Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Redhat 9.0 Specs, Memory problems & general lack of power!
Andyrew29
post Sep 18 2003, 08:43 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-September 03
Member No.: 1,462



Lo Dude's, just got a couple of questions:

I have just been given a second hand piece of shi$ for a laptop and am going to use it to try and learn linux (redhat 9).

The specs are here: http://www.e-laptop.com/catalog/toshiba/4000cdt.shtml

On install it won't load the GUI setup program because I don't have enough memory, due to this i'm assuming that it won't load the GUI once installed either, and i don't have enough linux knowledge to use 'text only' does anyone know the minimum amount of ram/graphics memory I will need to get either the KDE or GNOME GUI to load?

I can't upgrade the graphics memory however I can get hold of 128Mb ram, would this give be enough to run it reliably/effectively?

unfortunately I don't have enough cash to buy a brand new one due to student loan being used mainly on alcohol and upgrading my other system.

Help much appreciated

-Andy-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 18 2003, 08:47 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You can find the system requirements at http://www.redhat.com/software/linux/technical/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andyrew29
post Sep 18 2003, 08:55 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-September 03
Member No.: 1,462



Cheers mate,

Looks like linux is too power hungry for this little monster !

nice1

-Andy-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 18 2003, 09:20 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



http://www.samintl.com/mem/n6598.htm

Above is the info for memory upgrades...

And you can buy a 128mb upgrade from here for $28.00
Pricewatch.com

Whatever you put on it, you need more than 32mb ram ... this will take you up to 160mb...
------------------
You SHOULD be able to install RedHat 9 (or if not, RH 7.3) with that memory.

I know that slackware 9 and debian 3.0 will run with 160mb RAM ... you may have some issues with only 2mb video RAM ... and configuring sound might be a pain because it will be ISA vice PCI, but if you get it working it will be a fun experience....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 06:16 AM