Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie - Start Up, start up
Haggisss
post Sep 10 2003, 12:13 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-September 03
Member No.: 1,420



ive just installed red hat linux (guinness) but cant login....it keeps saying login incorrect and wont let me type in a password.......am i doing anything wrong?
im completely new to linux
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 10 2003, 01:53 PM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You should be entering root as the username and your password that you selected during the install. It will not echo the password back to you so it might look like its not typing anything when it really is.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Haggisss
post Sep 11 2003, 03:29 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-September 03
Member No.: 1,420



Tnx Joey...that worked but now im faced with [root@localhost /root]# any ideas?
i just want to get to a desktop so i can explore linux.......are there any place i can get a list of doslike commands?
sorry for being a pain smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Haggisss
post Sep 11 2003, 03:33 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 10-September 03
Member No.: 1,420



tnx joey that helped but now im faced with [root@localhost /root]#
any ideas? im just trying to get to desktop so i can explore linux.
is there anywhere i can get a doslike list of commands for linux?
sorry for being a pain smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 11 2003, 05:25 AM
Post #5


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You can type startx to load the desktop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jetblackz
post Sep 11 2003, 12:38 PM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 1-April 03
Member No.: 613



You should startx and in KDE, run adduser. You could add a user in command line, but redhat may not play nice. Here's how:

http://simplylinux.punted.net/AccountManagement.html


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 12:57 AM