Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> More Apache Webserver Problems!, I wish this would work..
Ravage_D
post Sep 9 2003, 09:21 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hello All!

I cannot get my Apache Webserver to work.

I'm running Red Hat Linux 9, and the version of the Apache Webserver that I'm using is whatever came with RH9.

Now, before, the webserver would work when I typed httpd -k start.
Now whenever I type it, nothing happens. That is to say, when I try to view the index.html file in /var/www/html/, nothing comes up. (I'm trying to access the website from this computer, my Windows XP box, by typing the Linux Box's network address, 192.168.1.103).

The next thing I'd like to do is make it so apache automatically starts everytime the computer is rebooted.

If anybody out there can help me, it would be appreciated!

Cheers,

-Ravage D'Selth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 9 2003, 11:04 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Try running (as root) /etc/init.d/httpd start

To have it start at boot type setup (as root) go into "system services" and check off httpd and save it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravage_D
post Sep 9 2003, 01:53 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

QUOTE
Try running (as root) /etc/init.d/httpd start


Tried it! Doesn't work sleep.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 9 2003, 01:56 PM
Post #4


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



What happens?

Did you check your apache error_log to see what's wrong?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravage_D
post Sep 9 2003, 04:39 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

Apache Error log? Where is it? tongue.gif

-Ravage
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 9 2003, 04:46 PM
Post #6


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Do yourself a favor and take 30 minutes to go through the apache docs. You can find them at http://httpd.apache.org/docs-project/

Your error_log should be in /var/logs/httpd/ or you can run updatedb and then locate error_log
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravage_D
post Sep 9 2003, 04:51 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

Well, I checked the logs in /var/log/httpd and I found my problem!

I recently changed the name of my box to "Thera" so that's obviously causing problems. Here is what the log file says:

QUOTE
[Sun Sep 07 14:08:04 2003] [alert] (22002)Name or service not known: mod_unique_id: unable to find IPv4 address of "Thera"
Configuration Failed!


So, my problem is setting up my hostname, and well, finding the file where you change that (which I don't remember anymore sleep.gif)

I only want the box's name to be Thera, address, should be either thera.homelinux.com or 192.168.1.103

Thanks for the docs! smile.gif

-Ravage D'Selth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 9 2003, 05:15 PM
Post #8


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You can use /bin/hostname to set the boxes hostname
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravage_D
post Sep 10 2003, 10:04 AM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

I don't know what to do to fix my hostname problem! huh.gif

I tried reading the man pages, but it's confusing....

Please help! sleep.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Sep 10 2003, 10:19 AM
Post #10


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Well did you run /bin/hostname and set it up?

What happens when you change the hostname in httpd.conf to localhost
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 02:10 AM