Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Configuring Grug
rina
post Sep 5 2003, 02:36 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 2-September 03
Member No.: 1,364



I have a PC dual with Win98 and RedHat 9.0 (Boot loader GRUB). My window crashed and had to reload Win98. Now do not get dual boot. I am to boot Pc using Boot Floppy. Please advice how to make it dual boot again.

Thanks,
rina
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Sep 5 2003, 05:09 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



run grub-install
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Sep 5 2003, 06:56 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Yes ... if you can boot to linux via a boot floppy, this command should work:

grub-install /dev/hda

(substitue your boot drive /dev/hda if it is different) ... if that doesn't work, for whatever the reason, you can:

cd /boot/grub

grub


(after it probes the drives, you will now be at the grub prompt) ... We are next going to issue the root command in grub ... the hard drive for root will be the drive that grub is on (it is normally your boot partition) ... based on the following table.
QUOTE
/boot partition    root command drive
/dev/hda1                (hd0,0)
/dev/hda2                (hd0,1)
/dev/hda3                (hd0,2)
/dev/hda4                (hd0,3)
/dev/hdb1                (hd1,0)
/dev/hdb2                (hd1,1)
/dev/hdc1                (hd2,0)         


If you are not sure ... just use this command at the grub prompt:

find /grub/stage1

if that doesn't work, try

find /boot/grub/stage1

once you know your /boot partition drive [mine is (hd0,0)], use this command:

root (hd0,0)

Then use the setup command to re-write the mbr on the correct drive ... /dev/hda is (hd0), /dev/hdb is (hd1), /dev/hdc is (hd2), /dev/hdd is (hd3) ... for me (hd0) is my boot drive [this should be the boot drive for the majority of people]

setup (hd0)

issue the command quit to exit grub and reboot ... everything should be good now.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 04:42 AM