Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Starting Up Apache?, As in, how do you?
Ravage_D
post Aug 29 2003, 11:17 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

I'm running Red Hat Linux 9 on one of my spare boxes, that used to be running 7.3. With 7.3, acessing the Apache webserver was easy. I just typed in the server's address, and bingo!

Using 9, so I'm finding, is going to be more difficult. I can't access the website at all! And there's nothing in /var/www/html

Can anybody help me out?

-Ravage D'Selth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Aug 29 2003, 11:23 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



you should be able to just access it if it is started...
its odd that there is nothing in /var/www/html..
create an index.html page in that directory
then try connecting again and see if it pulls up the page


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravage_D
post Aug 29 2003, 11:49 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

Tried that! No go.. my index.html file wouldn't load.

Actually, there IS something in /var/www/html .. there's a directory called usage.
Inside of which is: msfree.png and webalizer.png, both of which cannot be accessed either sleep.gif

-Ravage D'Selth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravage_D
post Aug 29 2003, 12:50 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 29-August 03
Member No.: 1,348



Hey,

HAZA! Got it to work. I asked a friend, he told me to use httpd -k start and it works!

Now the only problem I have is getting FTP to work! I don't even know if I have an rpm installed. Please help!

-Ravage D'Selth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 29 2003, 01:31 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If you want to start and stop the HTTP server automatically when the computer boots, go to the /etc/init.d directory and make sure you have the file in that directory called httpd.

Then issue the command:

chkconfig --level 35 httpd on

chkconfig --level 016 httpd off

So httpd will start-up automatically when boot to runlevel 3 (character based startup mode) or runlevel 5 (GUI startup mode) and will stop when you go to single user mode (runlevel 1), shutdown the machine (runlevel 0) or reboot the machine (runlevel 6).
---------------------------------

There are several ftp servers out there ... BUT I would use the SFTP program (part of SSH) if off site access is required. If you must use an FTP server, then ProFTPd is a farily secure option ... the program most widely used is WU-FTPD, but (as you can see on their main page right now) there have been many security issues with WU-FTPD ... I have used Pro-FTPd in the past and I recommend it (but again ... I would recommend SSH/SFTP as the connect method ... if possible)


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 03:00 PM