Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New To Linux And Need Advice, Modzilla Web Browser trouble
nightfanguk
post Aug 27 2003, 02:01 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,330



Hi there,

I've recently installed Red Hat Linux Version 8 (Yes, I know it's now at 9), and am having trouble with the download speed of the Modzilla web browser I got with it.

To set the background, I am accessing the web via a DHCP server (running some version or other of Windows server software - cannot be more specific at this point in time), which in turn is the default gateway to a broadband internet connection.

As far as I can see, I've configured the network side of my web connection correctly, as I am getting a connection. However, it's downloading web pages like a snail (Took 5 minutes to download Google's homepage).

When I access the same pages via Windows Explorer (Version 6.0) from my installation of Windows XP, it downloads web pages at a lightning speed.

Can anyone tell me what might be the problem with the connection from my Linux client?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jetblackz
post Aug 28 2003, 12:52 AM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 1-April 03
Member No.: 613



Disable firewall in Linux. Add DNS'es. That's all I can think of. Do ping www.yahoo.com on both boxes and compare the results.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nightfanguk
post Aug 28 2003, 04:16 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,330



Howdo,

Ran some pinging tests last night. Pinged the URL for Google (took ages) and then pinged the IP address, which proved to be lightning fast. Looks like you were right with your guess at the DNS's.

When I installed Red Hat, I installed the firewall on high security (on reflection, this was probably a pretty stupid thing to do, as I'm already accessing the web via a server with a firewall). Please can you let me know how I disable it (Will be trying to look this up tonight in my Red Hat Linux Bible, but it wouldn't hurt to have another source of information)? Also, please can you let me know how to go about adding DNS's?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Aug 28 2003, 04:29 PM
Post #4


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Run setup as root in a terminal. You can configure the firewall through there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nightfanguk
post Aug 29 2003, 09:11 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,330



Do I need to do this through a terminal session, or can I do it via the GNOME GUI?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 29 2003, 02:04 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



it will work either way ... it is console based. A terminal window in X or from character based mode....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nightfanguk
post Aug 29 2003, 02:20 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,330



Have now run the "firstboot" setup utility. Firewall configuration does not appear to be an option.

Any other suggestions on how to configure the firewall?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 29 2003, 03:47 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



that was running setup at the command line or in a terminal window using redhat 9?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nightfanguk
post Aug 29 2003, 06:16 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,330



Howdo Guys,

Have now run setup and disabled the firewall. Hasn't solved the problem though. Am now 100% convinced that this is a DNS configuration problem with Red Hat 8.

If you feel you can help and would like more information, please take a look at the new topic I've started.

Thanks for all your help so far - I didn't know about the setup utility.

Cheers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 09:00 PM