Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Booting To A Gui
trm96
post Aug 27 2003, 09:03 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,327



I just installed mandrake 9.1 and after its done booting it goes to a command prompt log on screen instead of a GUI login screen, and when i log on it stays in the comand prompt rather than giving me a GUI. How do I get it to use KDE rather than the command prompt as its UI? I typed in kde but it gave me this strange error: "Fatal server error: no screens found" What do I do, this is the second time i have installed Mandrake 9.1 it did not do this when i was running Mandrake 9.0. Please help unsure.gif Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Aug 27 2003, 09:49 AM
Post #2


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



You can type startx from the command prompt to get into X. To have it load X by default on bootup you will need to change the runlevel. Open up /etc/inittab with a text editor and change:

id:3:initdefault:

to

id:5:initdefault:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trm96
post Aug 27 2003, 10:48 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,327



I get the same error as i get when i type "kde" here is a screenshot:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 27 2003, 12:16 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



post your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file....and what type/model monitor and video card do you have.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Aug 27 2003, 01:04 PM
Post #5


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Did you configure the desktop during the install? Did it properly set it up then?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trm96
post Aug 27 2003, 01:28 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,327



QUOTE (Joey @ Aug 27 2003, 01:04 PM)
Did you configure the desktop during the install? Did it properly set it up then?

Yes and yes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trm96
post Aug 27 2003, 01:48 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,327



QUOTE (hughesjr @ Aug 27 2003, 12:16 PM)
post your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file....and what type/model monitor and video card do you have.

How do I open it sorry i am a linux noob. dry.gif My monitor is a Gateway Vx920 on a Nvida GeForce FX 5800 Ultra
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 27 2003, 05:50 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You need to install the drivers from Nvidia. Follow their install instructions.

Once X starts use the Mandrake control center to configure runlevel on startup.

The common console text editors are emacs, vi or pico.
i.e.
#emacs <textfile>

press ctrl x, ctrl c to exit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trm96
post Aug 28 2003, 10:15 AM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,327



QUOTE (michaelk @ Aug 27 2003, 05:50 PM)
You need to install the drivers from Nvidia.  Follow their install instructions. 

Once X starts use the Mandrake control center to configure runlevel on startup.

The common console text editors are emacs, vi or pico.
i.e.
#emacs <textfile>

press ctrl x, ctrl c to exit.

Ok I downloaded the file: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.run and I have followed all their drections (to the best of my abilty) and i get this screen after the license agreement:



What do I do to install it?


I really appreciate all the help you people have given to a dumb noob such as myself. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Aug 28 2003, 06:45 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Did you install the kernel source?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trm96
post Aug 29 2003, 06:43 PM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 03
Member No.: 1,327



QUOTE (michaelk @ Aug 28 2003, 06:45 PM)
Did you install the kernel source?

Yes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 05:52 PM