Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xawtv Configuration
jimdaworm
post Aug 20 2003, 11:54 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 811



I am pretty new to linux I am running a redhat version. I have installed xawtv and it seems to load up although I get an error message:

This is xawtv-3.88, running on Linux/i686 (2.4.20-9)
Warning: Cannot convert string "-*-ledfixed-medium-r-*--39-*-*-*-c-*-*-*" to type FontStruct
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 7 0 0

there don't seem to be any channels tuned in and I don't have any sound... what should I do?

Thanks
Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 21 2003, 06:52 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You didn't mention if you have a tv tuner card installed. A tuner card (plugged into some kind of antenna/cable system) or video capture card with video input is required to use xawtv.

If you have a TV tuner card that is supported by the Video4Linux project, then you have to have the Video4Linux option enabled on the Kernel ... that option is enabled on the stock RedHat kernel as a module.

Here is where you can find out about Video4Linux:
http://bytesex.org/v4l/

If you have a TV Tuner, I highly recommend the program MythTV. It is an awesome Personal Video Recorder (PVR) ... I use it all the time with a Hauppauge WinTV card.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimdaworm
post Aug 22 2003, 05:22 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 811



Hey I have a tuner and it is intalled. Its just it comes up with fuzz most of the time although for a time it was just showing one channel... not matter what channel I changed it to. I tried the program that you recommened but it seems really complicated to conpile and setup and I could find an RPM verson 686 for red hat 9.0 sad.gif

Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 22 2003, 08:28 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Are you using apt-get to do updates on your RedHat 9? I find it much easier to do than trying to use up2date from the redhat network (and it never says error - too many users are downloading ... try again later like RHN.)

Anyway, if you don't have apt-get, you can download it here:

http://atrpms.physik.fu-berlin.de/dist/rh9...rh9.at.i386.rpm

Then as root, install it like this:

cd to where you downloaded it ...

install with this command:

rpm -Uvh apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm

After the install, go to the directory /etc/apt and edit the file sources.list

add this line to the bottom of the file (or unremark it by removing the # in front of it):
CODE
rpm     http://apt.physik.fu-berlin.de redhat/9/en/i386 at-stable at-good at-testing


Then at the command prompt type:

apt-get update

Then type:

apt-get install mythtv-suite

and when everything is done, you should be in business ... then you need to setup mythtv.

Here are instructions:
http://atrpms.physik.fu-berlin.de/dist/rh9...9/mythtv-suite/
-------------------------
To update all the programs on your RedHat 9 install use the command:

apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade


I do this every couple days on my RH9 workstation....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimdaworm
post Aug 23 2003, 03:15 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 811



I am asumming I need to download some more stuff before I can get this to work??? I downloaded the file you said and got the below sad.gif

[root@localhost adam]# rpm -Uvh apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm
warning: apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 66534c2b
error: Failed dependencies:
atrpms >= 13-16 is needed by apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at
atrpms >= 9-3 is needed by apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at
libapt-pkg = 1:0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at is needed by apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at
libapt-pkg-libc6.3-5.so.0 is needed by apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at
[root@localhost adam]#


Do you know what I need to download and from where?
Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 23 2003, 06:44 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Download this file as well:
http://atrpms.physik.fu-berlin.de/dist/rh9...rh9.at.i386.rpm

put it in the same directory and try this:

rpm -Uvh apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm libapt-pkg-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm

You may also need to download this file:
http://atrpms.physik.fu-berlin.de/dist/rh9...9.at.noarch.rpm

and do it like this:

rpm -Uvh apt-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm libapt-pkg-0.5.5cnc6-34.rh9.at.i386.rpm atrpms-13-16.rh9.at.noarch.rpm
------------------------
then follow the mythtv instructions above...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimdaworm
post Aug 24 2003, 03:11 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 811



Hey nearly there... I hope! This is the latest

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
mplayer-gui: Obsoletes: mplayer-skin-default but 4:1.7-8 is to be installed
mythmkmovie: Depends: /usr/bin/mencoder
E: Broken packages
[root@localhost Appget]# apt-get install [root@localhost Appget]# apt-get install
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
E: Regex compilation error - Invalid regular expression
[root@localhost Appget]# apt-get dist-upgrade
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
Calculating Upgrade... Failed
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
mplayer-gui: Obsoletes: mplayer-skin-default but 4:1.7-8 is to be installed
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
[root@localhost Appget]#

What other packages do I need to download?
Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 24 2003, 06:04 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Looks like you have a problem with mplayer and the default skin ...

I would try:

apt-get remove mplayer

then try to get a good dist-upgrade ... then resolve the mplayer issues.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimdaworm
post Aug 26 2003, 03:58 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 811



Still banging my head against the wall!! Although it has to go down soon!

I am trying to to a apt-get dist-upgrade and it seems to have downloaded most of the 150mb of files but then I get the following... how can I fix it?

Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/redha....1.8-4.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm
Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/redha...4.55-1.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm
Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...rh90.noarch.rpm
Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://apt.sw.be/redhat/9/en/i386/R...g.rh90.i386.rpm Size mismatch
Failed to fetch http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/redha....0.4-1.i386.rpm Size mismatch
E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?


Thanks for all the help so far... hope you know what to do here
Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 26 2003, 06:53 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



It looks like you were unable to download from 2 specific sites (apt.sw.be and newrpms.sunsite.dk) ... so the download size (0) was not the same as the expected size for those files. Some of the sources get overcrowded and cause problems if you can't connect.

If you edit your /etc/apt/sources.list file and add only the following locations you may get more reliable downloading (and you will still get the updates):

CODE
rpm     http://ayo.freshrpms.net redhat/9/i386 os updates
rpm     http://apt.physik.fu-berlin.de redhat/9/en/i386 at-stable at-good at-testing
rpm     http://ayo.freshrpms.net redhat/9/i386 freshrpms
#rpm     http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/9.0 newrpms
#rpm     http://apt.sw.be redhat/9/en/i386 dag


I would just copy the current sources.list to sources.old and then edit the file, remove all lines and paste the sites above into the sources.list file. The 2 items at the bottom are the locations you had problems with remarked out with the # ... so they will not be contacted for downloads.

Then do:

apt-get update

apt-get dist-upgrade


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimdaworm
post Aug 27 2003, 04:06 PM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 811



Finally! Thanks for the help but it is still is doing the same thing... I am going to try and find another program that is a bit simpler... I have heard its quite complicated... for a newbie anyway.

Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 07:06 AM