Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Error Installing A Theme In Kde
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 06:57 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



Hi, I am having a problem installing a theme in KDE. I have extracted the tar files into a directory for the theme. However, when I run ./configure I get the following error:

checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!

Any idea what is going on? I'm not sure what this means, are there more dependencies missing (I thought I had all of them taken care of).The theme was downloaded from kde-look.org if it helps. I appreciate the help!

~Jason
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 07:29 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You need to have the XFree devel files for your distro ... what is your Linux Distro? Also, what is the name of the theme ... it might be available as a package.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 07:56 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



I am running RH9, KDE, trying to install a couple of themes, alloy-0.4.1a and dotNET1.4.1.

I got the xlib package installed....taken care of that error, but now see a similar error:

checking for libz... configure: error: not found.

These themes have been a bear to install....it all started with gcc dependencies i didn't have and has just gone on from there.

~Jason
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 08:43 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



That is the package zlib .... latest installs for RH9 are:

zlib-devel-1.1.4-8
zlib-1.1.4-8


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 08:53 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



Ok...got past that one...thanks! Now I get:

checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1 (20021021)) (headers and libraries) not found. Please check your installation!

I have QT installed (if i apt-get install qt it says i have the latest version).

Thanks a ton for your help......this is crazy the amount of problems just installing a theme creates.

~Jason

edit: fixed the jpeg error
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 09:07 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



apt-get install qt-devel


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 09:11 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The good news is ... you will have all the things you need to compile and install programs in KDE from now on when your done biggrin.gif


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 09:21 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



Ok...I got qt-devel, but am still getting the same error. Any other ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 09:25 PM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



qt-Xt

and maybe

qt-designer


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 09:33 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



Man...it won't stop!
Now I'm getting:

checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.1 (20021021)) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!
Make sure that you have compiled Qt with thread support!

BTW...Thanks for all your help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 09:57 PM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Look in the directory:

/usr/lib/qt-3.1/lib/

and see if you have the file(s)
libqt-mt.so.3.1.1
libqt-mt.so.3
libqt-mt.so.3.1

If you have them and in that directory ... edit the following file:

/etc/ld.so.conf

add this line at the bottom of the file:
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/lib

save the file and run the command:

ldconfig

and press return ... then to be safe, issue the ldconfig command again and press enter ... then try the compile again...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 10:06 PM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



I get a command not found when I try to run ldconfig. Even if I try to run it from the /sbin directory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 10:13 PM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



try /sbin/ldconfig

you might have to run it in a window as root...

do ls -al /sbin/ldconfig ... is it:

-rwxr-xr-x


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 12 2003, 10:19 PM
Post #14


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



/sbin/ldconfig worked (ran it twice too), but I'm still getting the same qt-mt error when running configure on the theme. Resiliant little bugger of a program! Any more ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Aug 12 2003, 10:33 PM
Post #15


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



try this (as the user compiling the program:

export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-3.1
export PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Then try it again


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jason122
post Aug 13 2003, 07:36 AM
Post #16


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 1,241



Did the above all while su root, same error as before.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 08:01 AM